2013 Silent Witness Story

In Memoriam

The South Carolina Silent Witness Story

October 1, 2013

In 2012, 48 South Carolinians were killed by their intimate partners. As citizens of this state, we have a responsibility to take a stand against this injustice. Therefore, in 1998 our state joined with more than 40 other states in a mission “to promote peace, healing and responsibility in adult relationships.” During the 16th annual Silent Witness ceremony, wooden silhouettes represent the women and men who have died due to domestic violence in South Carolina in 2012. This year, there are 49 silhouettes; 39 are for the known female homicide victims, 9 are for the known male victims, and one represents those victims of whom we are unaware.

The stories here were compiled using incident reports from local law enforcement and data from South Carolina Law Enforcement Division.

Lynn Carlisle, Aiken County

Bertha Beasley, Anderson County

Alvin Johnson, Anderson County

Andrea Mitchell, Anderson County

Velencia Compton, Beaufort County

Page Cross, Beaufort County

Xiuying Wang, Berkeley County

Eric Lee, Charleston County

Dara Watson, Charleston County

Allene Ellis, Cherokee County

XXXXXXX, Darlington County

Alma Stonecypher, Darlington County

Gloria Young, Fairfield County

Shannon Gomez, Florence County

Eugene Blyther, Greenville County

Rebecca Redding, Greenville County

Michele Wetzelberger, Greenville County

Lisa Merritt, Greenwood County

Amos Hatfield, Horry County

Tyrone Hamilton, Jasper County

Robyn Anderson, Lexington County

Catherine Banty, Lexington County

Alishia Dorsey, Lexington County

Shaquanah Jones-Brannon, Lexington County

Ginger Martinez, Lexington County

Lacey Johnson, Sr., Marion County

Cindy Koon, Newberry County

Marjorie Putnam, Oconee County

Clarine Smith, Oconee County

Hope Bowers, Orangeburg County

Ebony Bryant, Orangeburg County

Kyllia Holback, Orangeburg County

Kennetha Leaphart, Orangeburg County

Anjanette Shaw, Orangeburg County

Kelly Metcalf, Pickens County

Sandra Thomas, Pickens County

Rachel Goodnight, Richland County

Kathleen Kee, Richland County

Tammy Parker, Richland County

Johnette Pratt, Richland County

Almanita Smith, Richland County

Teacora Thomas, Richland County

Tammy Blackwell, Spartanburg County

Steven McDowell, Spartanburg County

Joanne Smiley, Sumter County

Kenneth Goins II, Union County

Jackie Craine, York County

Jonathan Earle, York County

Schedule a Tour or Visit

Welcome to the on-line office for Attorney General Alan Wilson. Please visit the Contact Us page to stay in touch.

image description
Columbia, SC

Rembert Dennis Building | 1000 Assembly Street,

Room 519 | Columbia, S.C. 29201

Phone: 1-803-734-3970 | Fax: (803) 253-6283

Back to top