
SC Code of Regulations 13-406.  Investment Adviser Minimum Capital and Bonding Requirements. 
 
A. Minimum financial requirements for investment advisers. 
Unless an investment adviser posts a bond pursuant to 35-1-411(e) and Section B below an investment 
adviser registered or required to be registered pursuant to the South Carolina Uniform Securities Act of 
2005 who has custody of client funds or securities shall maintain at all times a minimum net worth of fifty 
thousand ($50,000.00) dollars, and every investment adviser registered or required to be registered under 
the South Carolina Uniform Securities Act of 2005 who has discretionary authority over client funds or 
securities but does not have custody of client funds or securities, shall maintain at all times a minimum 
net worth of thirty five thousand ($35,000.00) dollars. Should net worth fall below those levels after an 
investment adviser is registered, notice must be given to the Securities Commissioner by the close of 
business the next day. Investment activities also must cease until net worth is restored to the required 
levels. The term “net worth” is the excess of assets over liabilities as determined by generally accepted 
accounting principles, less the following: 
 (1) Deferred charges, goodwill, franchise rights, organizational expenses, patents, copyrights, 
marketing rights, unamortized debt discounts and expenses, and all other assets of an intangible nature; 
 (2) Homes, home furnishings, automobiles, personal items not readily marketable, advances 
or loans to a related party, and assets owned or the portion of assets partially owned by another person 
(e.g., a spouse, if the asset is jointly owned), if net worth is being determined for an individual; and 
 (3) Advances or loans to stockholders and officers in the case of a corporation; advances or 
loans to members and managers in the case of a limited liability company; advances or loans to partners 
in the case of a partnership; and similar advances and loans.  
 
B.  Bonding requirements. 
Every investment adviser having custody of or discretionary authority over client funds or securities and 
not meeting the minimum financial requirements required of such adviser pursuant to Section A above 
shall post cash or securities (in accordance with Rule 13-407 or such other rule or order promulgated by 
the Securities Commissioner) or a surety bond in the amount of fifty thousand ($50,000.00) dollars for 
investment advisers having custody and thirty five thousand ($35,000.00) dollars for investment advisers 
having discretionary authority but not custody of client funds or securities. Surety bonds required to be 
posted pursuant to this Rule must be posted by a bonding company qualified to do business in this State. 
 
C.  An investment adviser that has its principal place of business in a state other than this State shall 
be exempt from the requirements of Sections A and B above provided that the investment adviser is 
registered as an investment adviser in the state where it has its principal place of business and is in 
compliance with such state’s requirements relating to net worth or bonding. 
 

D. The Securities Commissioner may, by order, exempt certain registered investment advisers from the 
surety bond posting requirements. 


