The State of South Carolina
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

CHARLES M. CONDON
ATTORNEY GENERAL January 19, 1999

Joe J. Ard, Chief of Police
Scranton Police Department
P.O Box 279

Scranton, South Carolina 29591

Re: Informal Opinion

‘ Dear Chief Ard:

You have asked if “we are in our legal bounds to stop a motor vehicle because it is
displaying a paper tag on it from where it was purchased and/or has no license tag at all.”
By way of background, you state that

h [o]ur reasons for stopping these vehicles is the check and see
that all paper work are in order, example insurance on vehicle,
proper bill of sale that has not exceeded the 45 day period for
applying for South Carolina tag or if the vehicle is stolen.

This agency has been stopping vehicles for this reason for
a long period of time, please note that no other traffic violation
fm has occurred other than not displaying a S.C. vehicle tag.

In addition, you wish to know “if a person stopped for not having a vehicle license can be
charged with Failing to maintain proof of insurance (56-10-225) if this person has only a bill
of sale on the vehicle.”

Law / Analvsis

Our Court of Appeals recently set forth in detail the standard for a police officer
making an investigatory stop of a vehicle in State v. Lesley, 326 S.C. 641, 486 S.E.2d 276

(1997) as follows:
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[a] police officer may stop a motor vehicle and briefly detain
and question an occupant if they have a reasonable suspicion
that the occupant is involved in criminal activity. Michigan v.
Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 103 S.Ct. 3469, 77 L.Ed.2d 1201 (1983);
State v. Robinson, 306 S.C. 399, 412 S.E.2d 411 (1991). This
suspicion must be based on “specific and articulable facts which
taken together with rational inferences from those facts,
reasonably warrant that intrusion.” Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1,
21, 88 S.Ct. 1868, 1880, 20 L.Ed.2d 889, 906 (1968). The
police may also order an occupant out of the vehicle and, if the
exercise of reasonable caution so warrants, frisk the occupant
for weapons. Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106, 98 S.Ct.
330, 54 L.Ed.2d 331 (1977).

The term “reasonable suspicion™ requires a particularized
and objective basis “that would lead one to suspect another of
criminal activity. United States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417,
101 S.Ct. 690, 695, 66 L.Ed.2d 621, 629 (1981). In determining
whether reasonable suspicion exists, the “whole picture” must
be considered. United States v. Sokolow, 490 U.S. 1, 8, 109
S.Ct. 1581, 1585, 104 L.Ed.2d 1, 10 (1989).

As you indicate, S.C. Code Ann. Sec. 56-3-210 provides a “grace period” of 45 days for
persons newly acquiring vehicles in order to register and license them. This Office has
previously concluded that “anyone claiming an exemption from licensing provisions has the
burden of proving that he is entitled to such exemption.” 1964 Op. Atty. Gen., Op. No.
1740 (October 10, 1964). Section 56-3-840 makes it a misdemeanor to drive, move or
operate on a highway a vehicle for which a registration and license are required but has not
been obtained within thirty days of the date when required.

Based upon this same type of requirement, courts elsewhere have upheld a law
enforcement officer’s stop of a vehicle where there is reasonable suspicion that the temporary
tag for a vehicle is improper or improperly displayed. See, Edwards v. State, 219 Ga. App.
239, 464 S.E.2d 851 (1995) [officer’s initial stop of vehicle was valid where officer saw no
license tag displayed and only upon stopping the vehicle did he see temporary tag]; Powell
v. State of Fla., 649 So.2d 888 (1995) [officer had valid reason to stop truck when he saw no
visible tag on vehicle]; State v. Allen. 638 So0.2d 394 (La. 1994) [officer had reasonable
cause for investigatory stop of vehicle for possible expired temporary license plate]. Green
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v. State, 866 S.W.2d 701 (Tex. 1993) [officer had reasonable suspicion that car was not
properly registered to stop vehicle where temporary cardboard license tag was improperly
displayed]. Accordingly, so long as the officer possesses a reasonable, articulable suspicion
that a vehicle is not properly registered and/or licensed, the officer’s stop would be deemed
valid. This, of course, depends upon all the facts and circumstances and the “whole picture”
available to the officer at the time. State v. Lesley, supra.

With respect to your second question regarding § 56-10-225, such Section provides
as follows:

(A) A person whose application for registration and
licensing of a motor vehicle has been approved by the
department must maintain in the motor vehicle at all times proof
that the motor vehicle is an insured vehicle in conformity with
the laws of this State and Section 56-10-510.

(B)  The owner of amotor vehicle must maintain proof
of financial responsibility in the motor vehicle at all times and
it must be displayed upon demand of a police officer or any
other person duly authorized by law.

(C) A person who fails to maintain the proof in his
motor vehicle as required by subsection (A) is guilty of a
misdemeanor an, upon conviction, is subject to the same
punishment as provided by law for failure of the person driving
or in control of a motor vehicle to carry the vehicle registration
card and to display the registration card upon demand. A person
failing to maintain in his vehicle the proof required pursuant to
subsection (A), within thirty days of being cited for such failure,
shall provide proof of insurance or have his driver’s license
suspended until satisfactory proof is provided. Further, this
proof must be provided every quarter for one year afer being
cited for driving without proof of liability insurance. Failure to
provide this proof when required shall cause his driver’s license
to be suspended until satisfactory proof is provided.

(D)  The penalties provided in subsection (C) are in
addition to, and not in lieu of, any other penalty, of whatever
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nature; provided by law for failing to act as required in
subsection (A).

Pursuant to the literal language of this provision, its applicability would, again, depend upon
all the relevant facts and circumstances. Subsection (A) appears to be applicable only where
a “person whose application for registration and licensing of a motor vehicle has been
approved by the department ... .” While Subsection (B) requires any “owner” to “maintain
proof of financial responsibility in the motor vehicle at all times” which must “be displayed
upon demand of a police officer or any other person duly authorized by law,” Subsection (C),
dealing with criminal penalties, appears only to relate to Subsection (A)’s requirement of
proof of insurance. I would think that, in most instances, if the registration and licensing of
a driver who has purchased a new vehicle is pending, Subsection (A) would not be
applicable, because such has not yet “approved ... by the department ... .” Again, however,
the particular facts could lead to a charge under § 56-10-225 (e.g. where a person has
purchased a new vehicle, had licensing and registration approved and yet not bothered to put
the tags on or carry proof of insurance in the vehicle], but I would urge caution in this area.
A charge made appears to depend upon whether the individual’s application for registration
and licensing has been approved.

This letter is an informal opinion only. It has been written by a designated Assistant
Deputy Attorney General and represents the position of the undersigned attorney as to the
specific questions asked. It has not, however, been personally scrutinized by the Attorney
General nor officially published in the manner of a formal opinion.

With kind regards, I am

Very truly yours,

Robert D. Cook
Assistant Deputy Attorney General

RDC/an



