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®ffice of the Attorney General

REMBERT C. DENNIS BUILDING
POST OFFICE BOX 11549
COLUMBIA, S.C. 29211
TELEPHONE: 803-734-3636
FACSIMILE: 803-253-6283

T. TRAVIS MEDLOCK
ATTORNEY GENERAL

July 18, 1990

g The Honorable Betty L. Williams
Clerk of Court
Georgetown County
Georgetown, SC 29442

Dear Ms. Williams:

You have requested the opinion of this Office as to the cor-
rect fee to charge for assignments of leases and subordinations of
mortgages. A previous Opinion of this Office concluded that the

i fee for the subordination of a mortgage would be provided by
.‘ § 8-21-310(3) of the Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, which,
among other matters, sets the fee for an instrument assigning,

; transferring or affecting a single real estate mortgage. Under the
%N 1990 amendments to this statute, the fee for matters controlled by
b section 8-21-310(3) is now $6.00. Act 531, Acts and Joint Resoclu-
tions of South Carolina, 1990. This same provision appears to be

[ the one most'applicable to the assignment of a lease or assignments
7 of the rents thereof when paragraph 3 of section 8-21-310 is read
together with paragraphs 4 and 1 of that statute. Sutherland

re Statutory Construction, Vol. 2A §46.05. Under paragraph 1, the
i fee for recording a deed or mortgage is $10.00, and under paragraph
4 the fee for recording a lease is $10.00, but under paragraph 3

the fee for recording an instrument "...which assigns, transfers,
or affects a single real estate mortgage or other instrument affect-
ing title to real property or lien for the payment of money..." is

$6.00. That the larger fees in paragraphs 1 and 4 cover the origi-
nal lease and mortgage and that the lesser fee in paragraph 3 ap-
plies to subsequent instruments such as assignments and transfers
indicates that an assignment related to a lease would be covered

under paragraph 3.
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In conclusion, the fee for recording either a subordination of
a mortgage or an assignment of a lease would be $6.00 under section
8-21-310(3) as amended by Act 531 of 1990. If you need additional
information, please let me know.

Yours very truly,

ory Smaith, Jr.
Assistant Attorney General
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ROBERT D. COOK
Executive Assistant for Opinions



