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Office of the Attorney General

State of South Carolina
April 7, 1983

*1 RE: Sentencing for a First Offense DUI

The Honorable Irene K. Rudnick
Member

House of Representatives

310-D Blatt Building

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Dear Mrs. Rudnick:
Attorney General Medlock has referred your letter dated April 4, 1983, to me for reply.

In your letter, you raised the following question: Could a City Court Judge, under South Carolina law, impose a 30 day
mandatory jail sentence and fine for afirst offense, driving under the influence.

Under South Carolina law, such a sentence would be illegal. It is a well settled rule in South Carolina that when a statute
provides for punishment in the alternative, such as ajail sentence or afine, the judge may impose either, but not both.

Section 56-5-2930, Code of Laws of South Carolina (1976) makes it unlawful for any person under the influence of alcohol or
drugs to operate a vehicle within this state. The penalties for such a violation are provided in 8 56-5-2940; any person found
guilty of DUI, first offense may be punished as follows:

By afine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $200.00 or imprisonment for not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days, for
the first offense; . . . (emphasis added)

It isthe general rule that penal statutes must be strictly construed against the state, and in favor of the defendant on whom the
penalties are sought to be imposed. 3 Sutherland Statutory Construction § 59.03; State v. Cutler, 274 S.C. 376, 264 S.E.2d 420
(1980). In addition, in penal statutes, the use of the digunctive term ‘or’ is not to be interpreted as meaning ‘and’, if the effect
would be to aggravate the offense or increase the punishment. See, 30 Words and Phrases 125, and cases cited therein.

Our Supreme Court addressed that question in the case of State v. Petty, 245 S.C. 42, 138 S.E.2d 643 (1964). In that case the
offense for which the defendants were convicted provided for aterm of imprisonment, or afine. The statute did not authorize
the judge to impose both. In affirming the conviction but reversing the sentencing and remanding the case for resentencing,
the Court said

It has long been settled in this jurisdiction that when a statute provides for punishment in the alternative, that is, by fine or
imprisonment, the Court hasthe discretiontofix it either singly or by giving the defendant the choice of fine or imprisonment . . .
However, a sentence to both fine and imprisonment exceeds the bounds of such a statute and isillegal.

Applying the reasoning of Petty to your situation, and § 56-5-2940, it would appear that a judge when sentencing a defendant
convicted of first offense DUl may do one of the following:
1. Impose afine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $200.00; or
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2. Sentence the defendant to aterm of imprisonment for not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days; or

3. Give the defendant the choice of afine or imprisonment, within the limitations imposed above.

*2 For thetrial judge to impose both a fine and imprisonment, given the clear language of § 56-5-2940, would beillegal.

If any further information can be provided, please do not hesitate to contract this office.

Sincerely yours,
James G. Bogle
Assistant Attorney General
1983 WL 181838 (S.C.A.G.)
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