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Introduction 

 
The purpose of this cigarette and tobacco products tax manual is to provide businesses, 
Department of Revenue employees and tax professionals a central summary of information 
concerning South Carolina’s cigarette and tobacco products tax law. To that end, the manual 
references specific authority, including the law, regulations, and Department advisory opinions1. 
 
While it is not possible to discuss every issue, this manual strives to deal with a variety of issues. 
In addition, due to changes in tax law, this manual is a constant “work-in-progress.” With that in 
mind, your suggestions for improvements and areas of discussion for future editions are 
welcomed 
 
 

Disclaimer 
 
This publication is written in general terms for widest possible use and may not contain all the 
specific requirements or provisions of authority. It is intended as a guide only, and the 
application of its contents to specific situations will depend on the particular circumstances 
involved. This publication does not constitute tax, legal, or other advice and may not be relied on 
as a substitute for obtaining professional advice or for researching up-to-date original sources of 
authority. Nothing in this publication supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes provisions of the 
South Carolina code, regulations, or Department advisory opinions. This publication does not 
represent official Department policy. The Department would appreciate any comments or 
notification of any errors. Such comments should be sent to:  
 

John McCormack 
South Carolina Department of Revenue 

Office of General Counsel for Policy 
Post Office Box 12265 
Columbia, SC 29211 
mccormj@sctax.org 
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Chapter 1 
 

General Overview 
 
South Carolina imposes a tax on cigarettes and a tax on tobacco products.1 These taxes 
are imposed for the privilege of selling cigarettes and tobacco products within South 
Carolina and for the privilege of importing, receiving or acquiring cigarettes and tobacco 
products from outside of South Carolina or from any source for use or consumption 
within South Carolina. 
 
A. Cigarettes 
 
The following provides a short history of the taxation of cigarettes from 1923 until the 
present. It is not intended to be a complete history, but is provided for information 
purposes as to the method of taxation and the tax rates imposed on cigarettes over the 
years. 
 
In 1923,2 the tax imposed on cigarettes was based on the weight of 1000 cigarettes. 
Cigarettes weighing not more than 3 pounds per 1000 cigarettes were taxed at $1.00 per 
thousand and cigarettes weighing more than 3 pounds per 1000 were taxed at $2.41 per 
thousand. 
 
In 1924,3 the method of taxation changed so as to tax cigarettes on a per package basis 
depending on the retail selling price. Packages retailing for $0.10 or less were taxed at 
$0.01 per package and packages retailing for more than $0.10 were taxed at $0.01 per 
package plus an additional $0.01 for each $0.05 or fraction thereof of the selling price in 
excess of $0.10. 
 
In 1927,4 the method of taxation remained the same but the rates were changed. Packages 
retailing for $0.05 or less were taxed at $0.01 per package and packages retailing for 
more than $0.05 were taxed at $0.01 per package plus an additional $0.01 for each $0.05 
or fraction thereof of the selling price in excess of $0.05. 
 
In 1942, the method of taxation was changed once again to tax cigarettes on a per 
cigarette basis. This is the method still in place today; however, the rates imposed have 
changed over the years as follows 
 

1942 – 1½ mills per cigarette or $0.03 per pack of 20 cigarettes5 
 
1950 – 2½ mills per cigarette or $0.05 per pack of 20 cigarettes6 

                                                 
1 By definition, the term “tobacco products” does not include cigarettes. 
2 Act No. 11 of 1923. 
3 Act No. 733 of 1924. 
4 Act No. 73 of 1927. 
5 Act No. 721 of 1942. 
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1951 - 1½ mills per cigarette or $0.03 per pack of 20 cigarettes7 
 
1959 - 2½ mills per cigarette or $0.05 per pack of 20 cigarettes8 
 
1960 - 2½ mills per cigarette or $0.05 per pack of 20 cigarettes9 
 
1969 - 3 mills per cigarette or $0.06 per pack of 20 cigarettes10 
 
1977 – 3½ mills per cigarette or $0.07 per pack of 20 cigarettes11 
 
2010 - $0.0285 per cigarette or $0.57 per pack of 20 cigarettes12 
 

As of the date of this publication, the tax on cigarettes remains at $0.0285 per cigarette13 
or $0.57 per pack of 20 cigarettes. 
 
Finally, for many years the tax on cigarettes was paid via a stamp that was required to be 
adhered to each individual package of cigarettes. The stamp method of administering and 
collecting the cigarettes taxes was abandoned in 1995 in favor of a reporting method that 
is still in place today.14 Persons liable for the cigarette tax must file a return on or before 
the 20th of the month following the month in which the sale, distribution or disposition of 
the cigarettes occurred. Payment of the cigarette tax due must be remitted with each 
return. 
 
B. Tobacco Products 
 
The following provides a short history of the taxation of certain tobacco products from 
1923 until the present. It is not intended to be a complete history, but is provided to 
information as to the method of taxation and the tax rates imposed on certain tobacco 
products over the years. 
 
 

                                                                                                                                                 
6 Act No. 1053 of 1950. This was a temporary change that was only in effect for the 1950-1951 State fiscal 
year. 
7 Since the rate increase in 1950 (Act No. 1053 of 1950) was only for the 1950-1951 State fiscal year, the 
rate decreased to 1½ mills per cigarette or $0.03 per pack of 20 cigarettes at the beginning of the 1951-1952 
State fiscal year. In fact, Act No. 78 of 1953 was enacted to clarify a codification clerical error which 
occurred when the 1952 Code was printed. Instead of noting the rate as 1½ mills per cigarette, the 1952 
publication incorrectly printed the temporary rate of 2½ mills per cigarette. 
8 Act No. 140 of 1959. This was a temporary change that was only in effect for the 1959-1960 State fiscal 
year. 
9 Act No. 802 of 1960. This made the temporary increase of 1959 permanent. 
10 Act No. 349 of 1969. 
11 Act No. 219 of 1977. 
12 Act No. 170 of 2010. 
13 The cigarette tax is actually a combination of two taxes – an excise tax of 3½ mills per cigarette and a 
surtax of $0.025 per cigarette. 
14 Act No. 114 of 1995. 
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In 1923,15 pipe tobacco was taxed at a rate of $0.06 per pound. A special commission 
ruled that the tax was a tax on pipe tobacco only and did not apply to plug chewing 
tobacco or snuff. 
 
In 1924,16 a tax on smoking tobacco was imposed at a rate of $0.01 per 3 ounces or 
fraction thereof. Smoking tobacco included granulated plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed 
and other kinds and forms of tobacco prepared in such a manner for smoking in a pipe or 
cigarette. 
 
In 1925,17 snuff and chewing tobacco were taxed at a rate of $0.01 for each 3 ounces or 
fraction thereof. 
 
In 1927,18 the method of taxation changed so as to tax smoking tobacco on a per package 
basis depending on the retail selling price. Packages retailing for $0.10 or less were taxed 
at $0.02 per package and packages retailing for more than $0.10 were taxed at $0.02 per 
package plus an additional $0.01 for each $0.10 of the selling price. 
 
In 1928,19 the method of taxation for smoking tobacco remained the same but the rates 
were changed. Packages retailing for $0.05 or less were taxed at $0.01 per package and 
packages retailing for more than $0.05 were taxed at $0.01 per package plus an additional 
$0.01 for each $0.05 of the selling price. 
 
In 1959,20 the tax rate on smoking tobacco and snuff and chewing tobacco were changed. 
Packages of smoking tobacco retailing for $0.10 or less were taxed at $0.02 per package 
and packages retailing for more than $0.10 were taxed at $0.02 per package plus an 
additional $0.02 for each $0.05 of the selling price. Packages of snuff and chewing 
tobacco were taxed at $0.01 for each 2 ounces or fraction thereof. These were temporary 
rate changes for the 1959-1960 State fiscal year only. However, in 1960,21 these tax rates 
were made permanent. 
 
In 1962,22 the tax rate on smoking tobacco and snuff and chewing tobacco were changed. 
Packages of smoking tobacco retailing for $0.05 or less were taxed at $0.01 per package 
and packages retailing for more than $0.05 were taxed at $0.01 per package plus an 
additional $0.01 for each $0.05 of the selling price. Packages of snuff and chewing 
tobacco were taxed at $0.01 for each 3 ounces or fraction thereof 
 

                                                 
15 Act No. 11 of 1923. 
16 Act No. 733 of 1924. 
17 Act No. unknown. 
18 Act No. 73 of 1927. 
19 Act No. 643 of 1928. 
20 Act No. 140 of 1959. 
21 Act No. 802 of 1960. 
22 Act No. 872 of 1962. 
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In 1968,23 the stamp method of administering and collecting the taxes on all tobacco 
products was abandoned in favor of a reporting method that is still in place today. In 
addition, the tax rate on smoking tobacco was changed to 30% of the manufacturer’s 
price to the wholesaler and the tax rate on snuff and chewing tobacco was changed to 5% 
of the manufacturer’s price to the wholesaler.24 
 
In 1969,25 the tax rate on smoking tobacco was increased to 36% of the manufacturer’s 
price to the wholesaler. 
 
Finally, in 1996,26 the tax rate on smoking tobacco and all other tobacco products was 
changed to 5% of the manufacturer’s price to the wholesaler.27 As of the date of this 
publication, the tax on all tobacco products remains at this rate. 
 
The statutes imposing the tax on cigarettes and tobacco products can be found in Article 
5, Chapter 21 of Title 12 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 

                                                 
23 Act No. 1263 of 1968. 
24 Act No. 1311 of 1968. 
25 Act No. 349 of 1969. 
26 Act No. 239 of 1996. 
27 For a time period prior to this rate change, the tax on cigars was based on the weight of the cigars per 
1000 cigars and the retail selling price of the cigar. This rate change now taxes cigars as a “tobacco 
products” at a rate of 5% of the manufacturer’s price to wholesalers. A detailed history of how cigars have 
been taxed since 1923 is not included in this overview. 
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Chapter 2 
 

Cigarette Tax Imposition 
 
A. Imposition 
 
The cigarette tax is imposed upon:1 
 

(1) every person engaged within South Carolina in the business of selling 
cigarettes, or 

 
(2)  every person within South Carolina importing, receiving or acquiring cigarettes 

from outside of South Carolina or from any source whatsoever. 
 
The tax is imposed on the person first receiving the untaxed cigarettes for sale, 
distribution or other disposition in South Carolina2 and upon any person first importing, 
receiving or acquiring untaxed cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use or 
consumption.3 
 
The tax applies whether the cigarettes are sold or otherwise disposed of in South 
Carolina, unless the sale or disposition is otherwise exempt under the law. In other words, 
if the person liable for the tax is unable to account for any cigarettes, such cigarettes are 
subject to the tax. 
 
B. Definition of a Cigarette 
 
A “cigarette” is defined under the cigarette tax law4 as: 

(1) any roll for smoking containing tobacco or any substitute for tobacco wrapped 
in paper or in any substance other than a tobacco leaf; or 

(2) any roll for smoking containing tobacco or any substitute for tobacco, wrapped 
in any substance, weighing three pounds per thousand or less; however labeled 
or named, which because of its appearance, size, type of tobacco used in the 
filler, or its packaging, pricing, marketing, or labeling, is likely to be offered to, 
or purchased by, consumers as a cigarette described in item (1). 

Since the imposition of the cigarette tax applies to “all cigarettes made of tobacco or any 
substitute for tobacco,” cigarettes that do not contain tobacco, such as clove cigarettes, 
are subject to the tax. 

                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §12-21-610. 
2 South Carolina Code §12-21-735. 
3 South Carolina Code §§ 12-21-610 and 12-21-140. The definition of a “cigarette” as set forth in these two 
code sections became effective May 13, 2010. However, it has always applied to cigarettes made with “any 
substitute for tobacco” as well as cigarettes made of tobacco. 
4 South Carolina Code §§ 12-21-620(B) and 12-21-625(D). 
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In addition, a cigar (or any other roll for smoking that contains tobacco or any substitute 
for tobacco) which weighs three pounds per thousand or less, regardless of how its 
labeled or named, is considered a cigarette for the purposes of the cigarette tax if because 
of its appearance, size, type of tobacco used in the filler, or its packaging, pricing, 
marketing, or labeling, it is likely to be offered to, or purchased by, consumers as a 
cigarette. 
 
C. Tax Rate 
 
The tax rate for cigarettes is $0.0285, on each cigarette.5 Cigarettes are typically sold in 
packs of 20 or packs of 25; therefore, the tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes is $0.57 and the 
tax on a pack of 25 cigarettes is $0.7125. 
 
The tax applies to all cigarettes – whether sold, used, consumed, given-away or otherwise 
disposed of – unless the transaction is exempt under the law. In addition, once the 
cigarette tax has been paid with respect to a pack of cigarettes, no additional cigarette 
taxes are due with respect to that pack regardless of the number of times the pack is 
resold in South Carolina.6 
 
D. Examples of Persons Liable for the Cigarette Tax 
 
The following are examples of persons who are liable for the cigarette tax: 
 

(1) Wholesalers first receiving untaxed cigarettes from outside of South Carolina 
for sale or distribution in South Carolina. 

 
Most persons liable for the cigarette tax will fall within this category. 

 
(2) Retailers first receiving untaxed cigarettes from outside of South Carolina for 

sale or distribution in South Carolina. 
 

While most retailers will not be liable for the cigarette tax since they are 
purchasing taxed cigarettes from the wholesalers listed above, some retailers 
specializing in selling cigarettes and tobacco products will fall into this 
category. These specialty tobacco shops may directly import or receive 
untaxed cigarettes from outside of South Carolina. 

 
(3) Manufacturers who bring untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina for give-away 

promotions. 
 

These manufacturers are liable for the tax as a person importing, receiving 
or acquiring cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use or consumption. 

 
                                                 
5 South Carolina Code §§12-21-620(1) and 12-21-625(A). The cigarette tax is actually a combination of 
two taxes – an excise tax of 3½ mills per cigarette and a surtax of $0.025 per cigarette. 
6 South Carolina Code §12-21-760. 
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(4) Manufacturer who employ sales representatives who bring untaxed cigarettes 
into South Carolina for promotional and other purposes. For example, 
manufacturers may send “car stock” to their sales representative in South 
Carolina for restocking or promotional purposes. 

 
These manufacturers are liable for the tax as either as a person engaged in 
selling cigarettes in South Carolina or a person importing, receiving or 
acquiring cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use of consumption. 

 
(5) Operators of fairs, circuses and carnivals, or vendors at such locations, who 

bring untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina to sell or give-away as prizes. 
 

These persons are liable for the tax as either as a person engaged in selling 
cigarettes in South Carolina or a person importing, receiving or acquiring 
cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use of consumption. 

 
(6) Individuals who bring untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina for their own use 

or consumption. 
 

These individuals are liable for the tax as a person importing, receiving or 
acquiring cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use of consumption. 
 

E. Examples of Persons Not Liable for the Cigarette Tax 
 
The following are examples of persons who are not liable for the cigarette tax: 
 

(1) Retailer only receiving taxed cigarettes from South Carolina wholesalers. 
 

Since the South Carolina wholesaler was the first person to receive the 
untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina, the wholesaler, not the retailer, is 
liable for the tax. 

 
(2) Individuals only purchasing taxed cigarettes from South Carolina retailers. 

 
Since either a South Carolina wholesaler or retailer was the first person to 
receive the untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina, the wholesaler or retailer, 
not the individual consumer, is liable for the tax. 

 
(3) Operators of fairs, circuses and carnivals, or vendors at such locations, who only 

purchase taxed cigarettes from South Carolina wholesalers or retailers. 
 

Since either a South Carolina wholesaler or retailer was the first person to 
receive the untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina, the wholesaler or retailer 
is liable for the tax. 
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Chapter 3 
 

Tobacco Products Imposition 
 
A. Imposition 
 
The tobacco products tax is imposed upon every person engaged within South Carolina in 
the business of selling tobacco products1 as a distributor.2 A distributor is: 

(1) any person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products in South 
Carolina who brings or causes to be brought into South Carolina from without 
South Carolina any tobacco products for sale;3 

(2) any person who makes, manufacturers, or fabricates tobacco products in South 
Carolina for sale in South Carolina;4 and 

(3) any person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products outside of South 
Carolina who ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in South Carolina 
to be sold by such retailers in South Carolina.5 

Essentially, the tax is imposed on the person first receiving the untaxed tobacco products 
for sale, distribution or other disposition in South Carolina6 and upon any person within 
South Carolina importing, receiving or acquiring tobacco products from outside of South 
Carolina or from any source whatsoever for use or consumption.7 
 
Once the tobacco products tax has been paid with respect to a tobacco product package, 
no additional tobacco products tax is due with respect to that package regardless of the 
number of times the package is resold in South Carolina.8 
 
The tax applies whether the tobacco products are sold or otherwise disposed of in South 
Carolina, unless the sale or disposition is otherwise exempt under the law. In other words, 
if the person liable for the tax is unable to account for any tobacco products, such tobacco 
products are subject to the tax. 
 

                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §12-21-800. By definition, the term “tobacco products” does not include cigarettes. 
2 South Carolina Code §§12-21-610 and 12-21-780. 
3 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
4 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(B). 
5 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(C). 
6 South Carolina Code §12-21-780. 
7 South Carolina Code §§ 12-21-610 and 12-21-140. 
8 South Carolina Code §12-21-760. 
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B. Definition of Tobacco Products9 
 
The term “tobacco products” is defined to mean “cigars, cheroots, stogies, periques, 
granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking tobacco, snuff, snuff 
flour, cavendish, plug and twist tobacco, fine-cut, and other chewing tobacco, shorts, 
refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco, and other kinds and forms of 
tobacco, prepared in a manner to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a pipe or 
otherwise, or both for chewing or smoking, but does not include cigarettes.”10 
 
C. Tax Rate 
 
The tax rate on tobacco products is 5% of the manufacturer’s price.11 The manufacturer’s 
price is the established price at which the manufacturer sells to a wholesaler.12 
 
It has been the Department’s longstanding policy that the “established price” is 
recognized and accepted sum of money asked for a tobacco product which a 
manufacturer sells to a wholesaler.13 The “established price” also depends on the facts 
and circumstances, such as in the case of the promotions and incentives discussed below. 
 
The following provides guidance with respect to determining the “established price” for 
various promotions and incentives:14 
 

Promotional Packaging - A product packaged for the consumer as part of a “buy 
one get one free” promotion by the manufacturer is a packaged unit with an 
established price that is distinct and separate from the established price for the same 
product sold individually. Therefore, the established price is the recognized and 
accepted sum of money asked by the manufacturer for each packaged unit during 
the promotion. 
 
Products Received Free of Charge - For the incentive program in which the 
manufacturer will offer a wholesaler, during a specified time period, the opportunity 
to receive one case of a product free of charge if he purchases one or more cases of 
the same product, the total price that the wholesaler pays is the “established price” 
for the all the cases received under the promotion. 
 
For example, if the wholesaler purchases 10 cases for $200 and receives 1 case free, 
the established price upon which the tax is calculated for all 11 cases is $200. A 
transaction must be viewed based upon its substance rather than its form. As such, 
the taxpayer in the example has purchased 11 cases for $200. 

 

                                                 
9 South Carolina Code §12-21-800. 
10 See Chapter 2, Cigarette Tax Imposition, for the definition of a “cigarette.” 
11 South Carolina Code §12-21-620(2). 
12 South Carolina Code §12-21-620. 
13 SC Revenue Ruling #94-7. 
14 SC Revenue Ruling #94-7. 
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Promotional Allowance - For the incentive program in which a manufacturer offers 
for a limited time a promotion that merely reduces the price of the product, the 
established price is the recognized and accepted sum of money asked by the 
manufacturer for the product during the promotion. 
 
For example, the product may sell for $175 per case; however, the manufacturer is 
offering the product during a specified time period for $160 per case with the 
invoice showing a unit price of $175 and a promotional allowance of $15. As a 
result of the promotion, the established price is $160. 

 
Finally, the established price is the amount charged by the manufacturer to the wholesaler 
before any cash discounts for early payment are allowed and taken.15 
 
D. Examples of Persons Liable for the Tobacco Products Tax 
 
The following are examples of persons who are liable for the tobacco products tax: 
 

(1) Wholesalers first receiving untaxed tobacco products from outside of South 
Carolina for sale or distribution in South Carolina.16 

 
Most persons liable for the tobacco products tax will fall within this 
category. 

 
(2) Retailers first receiving untaxed tobacco products from outside of South 

Carolina for sale or distribution in South Carolina. 
 

While most retailers will not be liable for the tobacco products tax since 
they are purchasing taxed tobacco products from the wholesalers listed 
above, some retailers specializing in selling cigarettes and tobacco products 
will fall into this category. These specialty tobacco shops may directly 
import or receive untaxed tobacco products from outside of South Carolina. 

 
(3) Manufacturer who employ sales representatives who bring untaxed tobacco 

products into South Carolina for sale by retailers in South Carolina.17 For 
example, manufacturers may send “car stock” to their sales representative in 
South Carolina for restocking or promotional purposes. 

 
(4) Operators of fairs, circuses and carnivals, or vendors at such locations, who 

bring untaxed tobacco products into South Carolina to sell or give-away as 
prizes.18 

 

                                                 
15 SC Revenue Ruling #94-7. 
16 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
17 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(C). 
18 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
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(5) Individuals who bring untaxed tobacco products into South Carolina for their 
own use or consumption. 

 
These individuals are liable for the tax as a person importing, receiving or 
acquiring tobacco products from outside South Carolina for use of 
consumption.19 

 
E. Examples of Persons Not Liable for the Tobacco Products Tax 
 
The following are examples of persons who are not liable for the tobacco products tax: 
 

(1) Retailer only receiving taxed tobacco products from South Carolina 
wholesalers. 

 
Since the South Carolina wholesaler was the first person to receive the 
untaxed tobacco products into South Carolina, the wholesaler, not the 
retailer, is liable for the tax.20 

 
(2) Individuals only purchasing taxed tobacco products from South Carolina 

retailers. 
 

Since either a South Carolina wholesaler or retailer was the first person to 
receive the untaxed tobacco products into South Carolina, the wholesaler or 
retailer, not the individual consumer, is liable for the tax.21 

 
(3) Operators of fairs, circuses and carnivals, or vendors at such locations, who only 

purchase taxed tobacco products from South Carolina wholesalers or retailers. 
 

Since either a South Carolina wholesaler or retailer was the first person to 
receive the untaxed tobacco products into South Carolina, the wholesaler or 
retailer is liable for the tax.22 

 
  
 

                                                 
19 South Carolina Code §§12-21-610 and 12-21-140. 
20 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
21 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
22 South Carolina Code §12-21-780(A). 
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Chapter 4 
 

Exemptions and Refunds 
 
The South Carolina cigarette and tobacco products taxes contain several exemptions and 
a refund provision. The following briefly describes these exemptions and the refund 
provision. 
 
A. Out-of-State Sales or Dispositions – Exemption 
 

Cigarette Tax 
 
The cigarette tax is not due on cigarettes shipped outside of South Carolina to a 
wholesaler, retailer or user or consumer by a wholesaler or retailer who is liable 
for the cigarette tax (i.e., the wholesaler or retailer who first received the untaxed 
cigarettes in South Carolina).1 
 
Note: Cigarettes shipped out-of-state by any other person are subject to the 
cigarette tax (e.g., a retailer not liable for the tax or an individual who purchased 
the cigarettes for use or consumption). 
 
Tobacco Products Tax 
 
The tobacco products tax is not due on tobacco products shipped outside of South 
Carolina to a wholesaler, retailer or user or consumer by a wholesaler or retailer 
who is liable for the tobacco products tax (i.e., the wholesaler or retailer who first 
received the untaxed tobacco products in South Carolina).2 
 
Note: Tobacco products shipped out-of-state by any other person are subject to 
the tobacco products tax (e.g., a retailer not liable for the tax or an individual who 
purchased the tobacco products for use or consumption). 

 
Note: Another provision3 allows a refund for cigarettes and tobacco products sold 
and shipped to a regular dealer in such articles in another state. The South Carolina 
seller is entitled to the refund if the South Carolina seller provides to the 
Department (1) an affidavit that the cigarettes or tobacco products were so sold and 
shipped to an out-of-state dealer4 and (2) a written statement from the out-of-state 
retail dealer (including the name and address of the out-of-state retail dealer) that 
he has received the cigarettes or tobacco products and stating the amount of South 
Carolina tax paid on the cigarettes or tobacco products. This refund may only be 
claimed by the person legally liable for the cigarette or tobacco products tax5 and 
must be made by using Form L-1025 – Application for Tobacco Tax Refund. 
                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §12-21-735. 
2 South Carolina Code §12-21-780. 
3 South Carolina Code §12-21-90. While this provision still references tax stamps, the Department still 
allows refunds for damaged cigarettes and tobacco products. 
4 The out-of-state dealer must be a regular dealer of cigarettes and tobacco products in the other state. South 
Carolina Code §12-21-90. 
5 South Carolina Code §12-60-470(C). 
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B. Sales to the United States Government – Exemption 
 
The following sales of cigarettes and tobacco products are exempt from the cigarette and 
tobacco products taxes: 
 

(1) sales to the United States Government;6 
 
(2) sales to a United States Government instrumentality for Army, Navy, Marine or 

Air Force purposes and delivered to a place lawfully ceded to the United 
States;7 and 

 
(3) sales to a United States Government instrumentality for Army, Navy, Marine or 

Air Force purposes and delivered to a ship belonging to the United States Navy 
for distribution and sale to members of the military establishment only.8 

 
C. Sales to Other Licensed Wholesalers or Licensed Retailers 
 
Sales of cigarettes and tobacco products are exempt when sold by a South Carolina 
wholesaler or retailer licensed to purchase, sell and distribute cigarettes and tobacco 
products to another South Carolina wholesaler or retailer licensed to purchase, sell and 
distribute cigarettes and tobacco products.9 
 
D. Sales to Ships Regularly Engaged in Foreign or Coastwise Shipping 

– Exemption 
 
Sales of cigarettes and tobacco products are exempt when sold and delivered to ships 
regularly engaged in foreign or coastwise shipping between points in South Carolina and 
points outside of South Carolina.10 
 
E. Leaf Tobacco – Exemption 
 
Sales of unprocessed leaf tobacco (i.e., tobacco not prepared in a manner suitable for 
chewing or smoking) are not subject to the tobacco products tax.11 
 
For example, whole leaf tobacco, or decorative tobacco hands and decorative tobacco 
braids made of whole leaf tobacco, sold for ceremonial purposes are not subject to the 
tobacco products tax. However, if the person purchasing the whole leaf tobacco, or 
decorative tobacco hands and decorative tobacco braids made of whole leaf tobacco, 
processes such tobacco for sale in South Carolina, then such person is liable for the 
tobacco products tax. 
 
                                                 
6 South Carolina Code §12-21-100. 
7 South Carolina Code §12-21-100. 
8 South Carolina Code §12-21-100. 
9 See the Monthly Tobacco Tax Return – Form L-922. 
10 South Carolina Code §12-21-100. 
11 South Carolina Code §§12-21-800 and 12-21-660. 
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F. Damaged Cigarettes and Tobacco Products - Refund 
 
The cigarette tax and the tobacco products tax paid on cigarettes and tobacco products 
“which by reason of damage become unfit for sale and are destroyed by the dealer or 
returned to the manufacturer” may be refunded.12 However, the refund request must be 
filed with the department by the person legally liable for the cigarette tax13 within three 
years of the time the tax return was filed14 and must be made by using Form L-1025 – 
Application for Tobacco Tax Refund. 
 

                                                 
12 South Carolina Code §12-21-110. While this provision still references tax stamps, the Department still 
allows refunds for damaged cigarettes and tobacco products. 
13 South Carolina Code §12-60-470(C). 
14 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(F)(1). 
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Chapter 5 
 

Catawba Indian Reservation 
 
A. The Catawba Indian Claims Settlement Act 
 
Chapter 16, Title 27 of the South Carolina Code of Laws is known as “The Catawba 
Indian Claims Settlement Act” (“The Act”). The Act is based on the agreement in 
principle reached between the State of South Carolina and the Catawba Indian Tribe to 
settle differences between the two parties. 
 
This act took effect on November 29, 1993 when the Governor certified that the Counties 
of York and Lancaster had taken all actions required of them by the Settlement 
Agreement and that the federal implementing legislation enacted by Congress and signed 
in law by the President was consistent with the Settlement Agreement. 
 
With respect to the taxation of the tribe and members of the tribe, the act states that “the 
Tribe, its members, the Tribal Trust Funds, and other persons or entities affiliated with or 
owned by the Tribe, members of the Tribe, or the Tribal Trust Funds, whether a resident, 
located, or doing business on or off the Reservation, are subject to all state and local 
taxes, sales taxes, real and personal property taxes, excise taxes, estate taxes, and all other 
taxes, licenses, levies, and fees, except as expressly provided in this section or the federal 
implementing legislation.”1 
 
In addition, the act states that “[a]ny other person or business entity which locates, 
operates, or does business on the Reservation is subject without exception to all state and 
local taxes, licenses, and fees, unless otherwise expressly provided in this chapter.2” 
 
A review of the act establishes that no special provisions or exemptions were enacted 
concerning the cigarette tax or the tobacco products tax.3 
 
B. Taxation of Cigarettes and Tobacco Products on the Catawba 

Indian Reservation 
 
Catawba Indian Tribe 
 
Sales by the Catawba Indian Tribe of cigarettes and tobacco products, whether on or off 
the Reservation, are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Sales to the Catawba Indian Tribe of cigarettes and tobacco products, whether on or off 
the Reservation, are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 

                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §27-16-130(A). 
2 South Carolina Code §27-16-130(A). 
3 Title 27, Chapter 16 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 
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Tribal Members 
 
Sales by members of the Catawba Indian Tribe of cigarettes and tobacco products, 
whether on or off the Reservation, are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Sales to members of the Catawba Indian Tribe of cigarettes and tobacco products, 
whether on or off the Reservation, are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Businesses Located on the Reservation 
 
Sales by businesses located on the Reservation of cigarettes and tobacco products 
(whether the sales are to the tribe, tribal members, other businesses or other individuals) 
are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Sales to businesses located on the Reservation of cigarettes and tobacco products are 
subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Businesses Located off the Reservation, but Selling onto the Reservation 
 
Sales by businesses located off the Reservation of cigarettes and tobacco products to 
persons (e.g., the tribe, tribal members, other businesses or individuals) on the 
Reservation are subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes. 
 
Note: See Chapter 2, “Cigarette Tax Imposition,” and Chapter 3, “Tobacco 
Products Tax Imposition” for information as to the person liable for the tax. 
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Chapter 6 
 

Confiscation of Contraband Cigarettes 
 
Cigarettes found at any point within South Carolina on which the tax has not been paid 
are subject to confiscation by the Department of Revenue, its employees and any peace 
officer of the State.1 Any proceeding against cigarettes seized are considered a 
proceeding in rem.2 
 
The confiscation of untaxed cigarettes applies to untaxed cigarettes in the possession of 
any wholesaler, retailer, or any other person, regardless of whether or not that person was 
the first person to receive the untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina. However, except for 
cigarettes being offered for sale, cigarettes must be in the possession of a wholesaler for 
more than 72 hours and in the possession of a retailer for more than 24 hours before they 
are subject to confiscation.3 
 
Since the cigarettes tax is no longer a stamp tax but is paid via a reporting method,4 it is 
not possible to determine whether the tax has been paid merely by inspecting the 
cigarettes themselves. Therefore, it must be determined by reviewing invoices and other 
records if the person in possession of the cigarettes (1) is registered to file and remit the 
cigarette tax or (2) has purchased the cigarettes from another person who is registered to 
file and remit the cigarette tax or (3) has otherwise purchased untaxed cigarettes. 
 
A. Examples of Cigarettes Subject to Confiscation5 
 

(1) Retailer A travels to another state, purchases cigarettes in that state, and returns 
to South Carolina to sell these cigarettes at his store. Retailer A is not registered 
to file and remit the cigarette tax. These cigarettes are contraband subject to 
confiscation. 

 

                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §12-21-2870 
2 South Carolina Code §12-21-2900. South Carolina Code §12-21-2870. Black’s Law Dictionary, Sixth 
Edition, states in part: “In the strict sense of the term, a proceeding “in rem” is one which is taken directly 
against property or one which is brought to enforce a right in the thing itself.” 
3 South Carolina Code §12-21-2870. 
4 South Carolina Code §12-21-735. 
5 While it is not a tax issue, wholesalers and retailers of cigarettes should be aware that it is illegal to sell or 
distribute “gray market cigarettes” in South Carolina. “Gray market cigarettes” are those that are not 
intended to be sold in the United States. The packages may be labeled “For export only,” “U.S. tax 
exempt,” or “For use outside U.S.” Cigarette packages which do not comply with federal labeling and 
advertising requirements with regards to labels, warnings or other information are also considered “gray 
market cigarettes.” Anyone who sells or distributes “gray market cigarettes” in violation of the state law 
may be sentenced to a maximum three years in jail and a $1,000 fine. Law enforcement officers may seize 
and destroy any illegal cigarettes or may sell the cigarettes to the manufacturer to be exported outside the 
United States. See South Carolina Code §16-17-505 and SC Department of Revenue news release dated 
October 8, 1999. 
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(2) Retailer B orders cigarettes over the Internet for sale in her South Carolina 
store. Retailer B is not registered to file and remit the cigarette tax. These 
cigarettes are contraband subject to confiscation. 

 
(3) Wholesaler C orders cigarettes from another wholesaler who is located outside 

of South Carolina. Wholesaler C receives the cigarettes via common carrier and 
will sell the cigarettes from his South Carolina wholesale distribution facility to 
retailers located inside and outside of South Carolina. Wholesaler C is not 
registered to file and remit the cigarette tax. These cigarettes are contraband 
subject to confiscation, whether in the possession of Wholesaler C or in the 
possession of a South Carolina retailer who purchased the cigarettes from 
Wholesaler C. 

 
(4) Mr. Smith travels outside of South Carolina and purchases a supply of cigarettes 

for use by him and his wife. If Mr. Smith does not remit the tax on these 
cigarettes upon his return to South Carolina, the cigarettes are contraband 
subject to confiscation. 

 
B. Seizure and Confiscation of Untaxed Cigarettes 
 
The General Assembly has established two procedures for the seizure and disposition of 
untaxed cigarettes found in South Carolina. The first procedure, noted in Section (A) 
below, requires a court case to determine the final disposition of the cigarettes seized. 
The second procedure, noted in Section (B) below, allows the Department to accept a 
compromise and return the seized cigarettes to the person from whom they were seized. 
 
(A) Seizure and Prosecution to Secure Forfeiture of the Seized Cigarettes 
 
The following outlines the procedure for confiscating untaxed cigarettes found in South 
Carolina and prosecuting the case to secure forfeiture of the seized cigarettes: 
 

(1) If untaxed cigarettes are found any place within South Carolina, the Department 
may seize those cigarettes without warrant. Untaxed cigarettes may also be 
seized by peace officer of the State.6 

 
(2) Upon seizure of untaxed cigarettes, the cigarettes must be appraised if in the 

opinion of the person making the seizure the value of the cigarettes seized is 
$100.00 or more.7 

 

                                                 
6 “The department may enter upon the premises of any taxpayer or the business premises of any other 
person and examine or cause to be examined by any agent or representative designated by it for that 
purpose any books, papers, records, memoranda, commodities or other things bearing upon the amount of 
taxes payable and secure from such taxpayer or other person any other information directly or indirectly 
concerned in the enforcement of [Chapter 21 of Title 12].” South Carolina Code §12-21-2860. 
7 South Carolina Code §12-21-2910. 
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(a) The appraisal must contain a list with a description of the cigarettes seized 
and must be prepared in duplicate. 

 
(b) The appraisal must be made by 3 sworn appraisers selected by the person 

who seized the cigarettes. These 3 appraisers must be respected and 
disinterested citizens of South Carolina who reside in the county where the 
cigarettes were seized. 

 
(c) The appraisal must be attested by the person seizing the cigarettes and the 3 

selected appraisers. 
 
(d) For their service, the 3 appraisers must be allowed a sum of $1 per day, not 

exceeding 2 days. These funds must be paid of the Department out of any 
revenue received from the sale of the confiscated cigarettes. 

 
If in the opinion of the person seizing the cigarettes the value of the cigarettes seized is 
less than $100.00, then an appraisal is not required.8 
 

(3) The person who seized the cigarettes must publish a written notice at 3 places 
within the county in which the cigarettes were seized.9 The notice must:10 

 
(a) describe the cigarettes seized, 
 
(b) state the time, place and reason for the seizure, and 
 
(c) state that any person claiming the seized cigarettes must make a claim in 

writing within 30 days of the first publication of the notice. 
 

(4) If a person files a written claim within the 30 days specified in the notice stating 
an interest in the cigarettes seized, that person may execute a bond to the 
Department in a penal sum equal to twice the value of the cigarettes seized with 
sureties to be approved by the clerk of court in the county in which the 
cigarettes were seized. However, in no case may the bond be less that $100.00. 
This is conditioned that the obligors, in the case of condemnation of the 
cigarettes seized, must pay to the Department the full value of cigarettes seized, 
all costs and expenses of the proceedings (including reasonable attorney’s 
fees).11 

 
(5) When the Department receives the bond, it must send a duplicate list or 

description of the cigarettes to the solicitor of the circuit in which the cigarettes 
were seized. The solicitor must prosecute the case to secure forfeiture of the 
cigarettes.12 

                                                 
8 South Carolina Code §12-21-2910. 
9 South Carolina Code §12-21-2920. 
10 South Carolina Code §12-21-2920. 
11 South Carolina Code §12-21-2930. 
12 South Carolina Code §12-21-2930. 
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(6) The cigarettes must be delivered to the claimant pending the outcome of the 

case.13 
 

(7) If a claim is not filed, or a bond is not given, within the 30 days specified in the 
notice, the cigarettes are forfeited without any further proceedings.14 

 
(8) If the cigarettes are forfeited as set forth above, then the cigarettes must be 

donated by the Department to the SC Department of Mental Health for patient 
use.15 

 
(B) Seizure and Acceptance of Compromise to Return the Seized Cigarettes 
 
The following outlines the procedure for confiscating untaxed cigarettes found in South 
Carolina and accepting a compromise for the return of the seized cigarettes to the person 
from whom they were seized: 
 

(1) If untaxed cigarettes are found any place within South Carolina, the Department 
may seize those cigarettes without warrant. Untaxed cigarettes may also be 
seized by peace officer of the State. 

 
(2) Upon seizure of untaxed cigarettes, the cigarettes must be appraised if in the 

opinion of the person making the seizure the value of the cigarettes seized is 
$100.00 or more.16 

 
(a) The appraisal must contain a list with a description of the cigarettes seized 

and must be prepared in duplicate. 
 
(b) The appraisal must be made by 3 sworn appraisers selected by the person 

who seized the cigarettes. These 3 appraisers must be respected and 
disinterested citizens of South Carolina who reside in the county where the 
cigarettes were seized. 

 
(c) The appraisal must be attested by the person seizing the cigarettes and the 3 

selected appraisers. 
 
(d) For their service, the 3 appraisers must be allowed a sum of $1 per day, not 

exceeding 2 days. These funds must be paid of the Department out of any 
revenue received from the sale of the confiscated cigarettes. 

 

                                                 
13 South Carolina Code §12-21-2930. 
14 South Carolina Code §12-21-2940. 
15 South Carolina Code §12-21-2975. 
16 South Carolina Code §12-21-2910. 
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If in the opinion of the person seizing the cigarettes the value of the cigarettes seized is 
less than $100.00, then an appraisal is not required.17 
 

(3) If the Department determines that the person in possession of the untaxed 
cigarettes did not intend to violate the cigarette tax law, then the Department 
may, at its discretion, return the seized cigarettes to the person from whom they 
were confiscated if the following conditions are met:18 

 
(a) The person from whom the cigarettes were confiscated pays the Department 

an amount equal to the assessed value of the confiscated cigarettes. 
 
(b) The person from whom the cigarettes were confiscated pays the tax and any 

applicable penalties due on the cigarettes. 

                                                 
17 South Carolina Code §12-21-2910. 
18 South Carolina Code §12-21-2960. 
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Chapter 7 
 

Administrative Requirements 
 
A. Cigarette and Tobacco Products License 
 
Who Must Obtain a License 
 
A cigarette and tobacco products license must be obtained, at no cost, by the following 
persons before engaging in the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products in South Carolina:1 
 

(1) Wholesalers of cigarettes or tobacco products. 
 
(2) Retailers that purchase untaxed cigarettes or untaxed tobacco products. 
 
(3) Vending machine operators selling cigarettes or tobacco products through 

vending machines placed on another person’s premises. 
 
(4) Sales representatives for manufacturers of cigarettes or tobacco products. 

 
Wholesalers and retailers must obtain a license for each place of business.2 Vending 
machine operators and sales representatives; however, are only required to obtain one 
license.3 Vending machine operators, while only required to obtain one license, must 
maintain an up-to-date list of the location of each cigarette or tobacco products vending 
machine in South Carolina.4 
 
Who Is Not Required to Obtain a License 
 
A cigarette and tobacco products license is not required of:5 
 

(1) Retailers that only purchase taxed cigarettes or taxed tobacco products. 
 
(2) Vending machine operators selling cigarettes or tobacco products through 

vending machines only located on their own premises. 
 
(3) Persons selling or distributing leaf tobacco. 
 
(4) Churches, schools or charitable organizations operating booths at state, county. 
 
(5) Church or school entertainments. 

                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §12-21-660. 
2 South Carolina Code §12-21-660. 
3 South Carolina Code §12-21-660. 
4 South Carolina Code §12-21-660. 
5 South Carolina Code §12-21-660. 
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Specific License Requirements 
 
Persons required to obtain a cigarette and tobacco products license must comply with the 
following provisions:6 
 

(1) The license must be obtained before engaging in the business of purchasing, 
selling and distributing cigarettes and tobacco products in South Carolina. 

 
(2) The license must be displayed at all times in a conspicuous place. 
 
(3) The license cannot be transferred to another person. 
 
(4) The license is only valid for transacting business at the place designated on the 

license. 
 
B. Bond Requirements 
 
Cigarettes 
 
Persons who are liable for the cigarette tax are required to post a surety bond or submit 
statements of financial stability satisfactory to the Department. These are required to 
cover possible losses from a taxpayer’s failure to remit the cigarette tax due.7 
 
Tobacco Products 
 
A bond or statement of financial stability is not specifically required with respect to the 
tobacco products tax. However, tobacco products licensees who are not liable for the 
cigarette tax can be required to post a bond if the licensee fails to pay the tobacco 
products tax for as many as two filing periods in a 12 month period.8 
 
C. Reporting Requirements 
 
Persons liable for the cigarette or tobacco products tax must file a monthly return9 and 
remits the taxes due. The return must be filed by the 20th of the month following the 
month in which the sale or disposition of the cigarettes or tobacco products occurred. The 
taxpayer must report and remit taxes with respect to all cigarettes and tobacco products 
sold, shipped, delivered or otherwise disposed of in South Carolina.10 

 

                                                 
6 South Carolina Code §12-21-670. 
7 South Carolina Code §12-21-735. 
8 South Carolina Code §12-54-200. 
9 SC Department of Revenue Form L-915. 
10 South Carolina Code §§12-21-735 and 12-21-780. 
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Cigarettes 
 
All licensed cigarette distributors elect to report and remit the cigarette tax using 
either of the following reporting methods:11 
 

Sales Method: Licensed distributor who have elected the “sales method” report 
and remit the cigarette tax as cigarettes are sold or disposed of by the licensed 
distributor. 
 
Receipt Method: Licensed distributors who have elected the “receipt method” 
report and remit the cigarette tax as cigarettes are received in South Carolina. 

 
Tobacco Products (Cigars, Smoking or Chewing Tobacco, Snuff, Etc.) 

 
All licensed distributors of tobacco products12 must use the “receipt method” to 
report and remit the tax on “tobacco products” as such products are received in 
South Carolina.13 

 
The Department, at its discretion, may require cigarette and tobacco products tax returns 
and payment of taxes for other than monthly periods.14 
 
When a taxpayer files the return and remits the taxes due in a timely manner, the taxpayer 
may take a deduction on the return equal to 3½% of the taxes due.15 
 
D. Returning a License16 

When a business is closed, sold or otherwise transferred to another person, the cigarette 
and tobacco products license, as well as all other licenses issued by the Department, must 
be returned to the Department for cancellation and the taxpayer must remit unpaid or 
accrued taxes. 

The Department may refuse to issue a license to a person, and may revoke one or more 
licenses held by a person, who has failed to return a license and remit taxes.17 

                                                 
11 See Form L-922. 
12 The term “tobacco products” is defined to mean “cigars, cheroots, stogies, periques, granulated, plug cut, 
crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking tobacco, snuff, snuff flour, cavendish, plug and twist tobacco, 
fine-cut, and other chewing tobacco, shorts, refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco, 
and other kinds and forms of tobacco, prepared in a manner to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a pipe 
or otherwise, or both for chewing or smoking, but does not include cigarettes.” See South Carolina Code 
§12-21-800. 
13 See Form L-922. 
14 South Carolina Code §12-21-785. 
15 South Carolina Code §§12-21-735 and 12-21-780. 
16 South Carolina Code §12-54-126. See also SC Regulation 117-300.6 for special rules regarding 
partnerships. 
17 South Carolina Code §12-54-90. 
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E. Recordkeeping 
 
Every person subject to the cigarette and tobacco products taxes is required to keep 
“records, receipts, invoices and other pertinent papers in the form the commission 
requires.”18 This includes records in electronic format.19 
Records must be kept for a period of four years.20 
 
The penalty for failing to keep records as required by the Department is a maximum of 
$500 per return.21 
 
F. Assessments 
 
The Department may assess unpaid taxes within three years of the date the taxpayer’s 
return was filed, or due to be filed, whichever occurs later.22 
 
For example, if a taxpayer files the May 2008 cigarette and tobacco products tax return on 
the due date, June 20, 2008, the Department has until June 20, 2011, to determine if 
additional taxes are due and assess the taxpayer for those taxes. If the taxpayer filed the 
May 2008 return late on August 30, 2008, then the Department has until August 30, 
2011, to determine if additional taxes are due and assess the taxpayer for those taxes. 
 
However, there are exceptions to the three-year limitation to assess additional taxes. The 
Department may assess for additional taxes after the three-year period if any one of the 
following situations applies: 
 

The taxpayer has consented in writing to extending the time period for assessing 
the tax.23 This consent form must be completed before the three-year time limit 
expires. This consent form is usually completed at the beginning of the audit 
process when the taxpayer and the auditor agree to the period of time to be 
audited. 
 
The taxpayer understates 20% of total taxes. In this case, the Department has six 
years to assess the taxpayer for the unpaid taxes.24 
 
The taxpayer has failed to file the return.25 In this case, the Department may go 
back as far as August of 1985.26 

                                                 
18 South Carolina Code §12-54-210; SC Regulation 117-200; and SC Regulation 117-200.1. 
19 SC Regulation 117-200.2. 
20 SC Regulation 117-200.1. 
21 South Carolina Code §12-54-210. 
22 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(A). 
23 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C)(4). 
24 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C)(3). 
25 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C)(2). 
26 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C). At one time there was a statute that presumed that any tax due for 
more than 10 years had been paid. That statute was repealed effective August 1, 1995. Now there are no 
limitations on assessment of taxes where no return was filed and none on fraudulent returns. The 
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The taxpayer has filed a fraudulent return with the intent to evade the tax.27 In 
this case, the Department may go back as far as August of 1985.28 

 
G. Refunds 
 
Initial Process 
 

A. A taxpayer may seek a refund of any state tax by filing a written claim for refund with 
the Department. 

 
Only the taxpayer legally liable for the tax may claim or receive a refund.29 In the case 
of the cigarette and tobacco products taxes, this is the person first receiving the untaxed 
cigarettes or tobacco products in South Carolina. In addition, this could also be a person 
receiving untaxed cigarettes as a result of having a license that allows the purchase of 
untaxed cigarettes in order to subsequently ship such cigarettes to retailers both in and 
out of South Carolina.30 
 
Also, the taxpayer legally liable for the tax may assign in writing the refund to 
another person if the taxpayer legally liable for the tax has filed the claim for refund, 
the Department determines the claim is allowable, the amount of the refund is 
decided by the Department, and the Department has approved the refund.31 

 
For special rules concerning foreign diplomats, see South Carolina Code §12-60-
470(C)(3). 

 
B. The refund claim must specify:32 

 
(1) the taxpayer’s name, address, and telephone number; 
 
(2) the appropriate taxpayer identification number or numbers; 
 
(3) the tax period or date for which the tax was paid; 
 

                                                                                                                                                 
Department has consistently taken the position that the former 10 year statute would continue to apply to 
taxes due before August 1, 1995; therefore it does not seek to make assessments for periods before August 
1, 1985 (10 years prior to the August 1, 1995, effective date). 
27 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C)(1). 
28 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(C). At one time there was a statute that presumed that any tax due for 
more than 10 years had been paid. That statute was repealed effective August 1, 1995. Now there are no 
limitations on assessment of taxes where no return was filed and none on fraudulent returns. The 
Department has consistently taken the position that the former 10 year statute would continue to apply to 
taxes due before August 1, 1995; therefore it does not seek to make assessments for periods before August 
1, 1985 (10 years prior to the August 1, 1995, effective date). 
29 South Carolina Code §12-60-470(C)(1). 
30 South Carolina Code §12-21-735. 
31 South Carolina Code §12-60-470(C)(2). 
32 South Carolina Code §12-60-470(B). 
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(4) the nature and kind of tax paid; 
 
(5) the amount claimed as erroneously paid; 

 
(6) a statement of facts supporting the taxpayer’s positions; and 
 
(7) a statement outlining the reasons for the claim, including any law or other authority 

upon which the taxpayer relies. 
 

C. The refund claim must be filed within three years of the time the return was filed, or two 
years from date of payment, whichever is later. If no return was filed, the claim must be 
filed within two years from date of payment.33 

 
D. The appropriate division of the Department will decide what refund is due, if any, 

and give a written notice of its decision. 
 
E. If a taxpayer’s claim for refund is denied, the taxpayer can appeal by filing a written 

protest with the Department. The protest must be in writing and must be filed within 90 
days from the date of the denial. The protest must also provide any information that 
was previously omitted but required for a refund claim as listed above. 

 
F. If a refund is due, it must be first applied against other cigarette and tobacco products 

taxes due by the claimant and then against other state taxes due by the claimant.34 
 
Review by the Department 
 

A. After the appeal, the taxpayer will be offered a conference with the person who 
denied the refund claim, and if requested, that person’s supervisor. The purpose of 
the conference is to give the taxpayer a better understanding of the facts and issues and 
to also afford the taxpayer the opportunity to present additional information. At 
the Department’s discretion, the conference may be conducted by telephone. After 
the conference, if the protest is not resolved, the file will be transferred to the 
Department’s Office of General Counsel for Litigation. 

 
B. The Office of the General Counsel for Litigation will review the file and prepare a 

written Department Determination addressing the issues raised by the appeal. Once 
the Department’s Director approves the Determination, it will be mailed to the 
taxpayer. 

 
Contested Case Hearing before the Administrative Law Court 

 
A. A taxpayer may request a contested case hearing before the Administrative Law Court 

if the taxpayer disagrees with the Department Determination. 

                                                 
33 South Carolina Code §12-54-85(F). 
34 South Carolina Code §12-60-490. 
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B. The request for a contested case hearing must be made in writing within 30 days after 

the date the Determination was mailed or delivered. 
 
C. The rules of the Administrative Law Court will control the request for a contested 

case hearing and the hearing. 
 
D. A refund denial will become final if the taxpayer does not request a contested case 

hearing within 30 days. 
 
H. Penalties and Interest 
 
Taxpayers who fail to file cigarette and tobacco products tax returns, or fail to pay these 
taxes when they are due, are subject to certain penalties. Penalties are imposed as 
follows: 
 
Failure to file  
 
This penalty is imposed at the rate of 5% of the taxes due for each month, or fraction of a 
month, the return is late. For example, if the May 2008 return is filed on June 30, 2008, 
the return is 10 days late and the taxpayer is subject to a penalty equal to 5% of the tax due 
on that return. If this same return had not been filed until July 23, 2008, the taxpayer 
would be subject to a penalty equal to 10% of the tax due on that return. 
 
Failure to pay  
 
This penalty is imposed at the rate of 0.5% of the taxes due for each month, or fraction of 
a month, the taxes are late. For example, if the May 2008 return is filed on June 30, 2008, 
the remittance is 10 days late and the taxpayer is subject to a penalty equal to 0.5% of the 
tax shown as due on that return. If this same return had not been filed until July 23, 2008, 
then the taxpayer would be subject to a penalty equal to 1% of the taxes shown as due on 
that return. 
 
If the taxpayer is audited and taxes are found to be due, then the failure to pay penalty is 
not due if the taxes are paid within 10 days of the Department’s assessment for such 
taxes. 
 
If the taxes found to be due under the audit are not paid within 10 days of the 
Department’s assessment, then the penalty is imposed at the rate of 0.5% of the taxes 
due for each month, or fraction of a month, from the 11th day after the assessment 
is issued until the taxes are paid. 
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Failure to Allow Inspection 

The Department may conduct inspections of a business premises to ensure compliance 
with the cigarette and tobacco tax laws.35 A taxpayer who refuses to allow, or interferes 
with, an inspection of a business premises to ensure compliance with the cigarette and 
tobacco tax laws is subject to civil and criminal penalties.36 

Other Penalties 
 
Other penalties, such as those imposed with respect to negligence,37 fraud38 and operating 
without a license, can be found in Chapter 54 of Title 12 of the South Carolina Code of 
Laws. 
 
Interest 
 
The Department, by law, imposes interest if a taxpayer fails to pay any cigarette or 
tobacco products taxes due. Interest is imposed at the same rate as provided in the 
Internal Revenue Code. The interest rate changes quarterly and the applicable interest 
rate may be found on the Department’s website (www.sctax.org).39 These interest rates 
are also used by the Department in calculating the interest due a taxpayer if that taxpayer is 
issued a refund; however, two temporary provisos in the current budget directs the 
Department to reduce the rate of interest paid on eligible refunds by three percentage 
points for refunds paid from July 1st through June 30th.40 
 
Waiver of Penalties 
 
The Department has the authority to waive penalties imposed if there is reasonable cause 
to do so. Taxpayers who request a waiver or reduction of penalties imposed should do so 
in writing, and should set forth the reasons why such penalties should be waived or 
reduced. The Department employee reviewing the request will then determine if a waiver 
or reduction of penalties is warranted under the guidelines set forth by the Department in 
SC Revenue Procedure #08-6. 
 

                                                 
35 South Carolina Code §12-21-2860. 
36 South Carolina Code §12-54-43(H) (a civil penalty of not less than $50 and not more than $500 for 
failure to comply with statutory provisions) or South Carolina Code §12-21-3080 (a misdemeanor subject 
to a criminal penalty, upon conviction, of not less than $20 nor more than $200, or imprisonment for not 
less than 10 days nor more than 60 days, or both). 
37 South Carolina Code §12-54-43(F)(1). 
38 South Carolina Code §12-54-44. 
39 Interest rate information is published quarterly in an information letter issued by the Department. To 
obtain a copy of such an information letter, click on “Dept. Advisory Opinions” on the website, then go to 
the “Alphabetical Index of Advisory Opinions” and then to the “Administrative” index. 
40 To determine if future fiscal years reduce the rate of interest for refunds, see the state budget for that 
fiscal year at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/. 
 

http://www.scstatehouse.gov/
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I. Completion of an Audit 
 
Initial Process 

A. When a division of the Department determines a taxpayer owes additional taxes, it will 
mail or deliver a proposed assessment. The proposed assessment is the first written 
notice a taxpayer will receive that additional taxes, interest, or penalties are owed. The 
term “proposed assessment” does not include the auditor’s work papers or draft audit 
reports. If the taxpayer disagrees with a proposed assessment, the taxpayer is 
entitled to appeal the findings using the following procedures. 

B. If the taxpayer agrees with the proposed assessment, the amount due should be paid 
on or before the due date of the proposed assessment to avoid additional interest 
and penalties, if applicable. 

If the taxpayer cannot pay, the taxpayer may request to enter into an installment 
payment agreement. An installment payment agreement will allow the taxpayer to pay 
over an agreed period of time. The taxpayer may contact the district manager of the 
nearest Taxpayer Service Center for additional information about installment 
agreements. 

C. A taxpayer may agree with portions of the proposed assessment and disagree with 
others. The portion of the assessment with which the taxpayer agrees may be paid to 
avoid additional interest and penalties, and the remainder can be appealed. 

D. If the taxpayer disagrees with part or all of the proposed assessment, the taxpayer may 
appeal by sending a written protest within 90 days from the date on the proposed 
assessment to the address on the proposed assessment. The written protest must contain: 

(1) the taxpayer’s name, address, and telephone number; 
 
(2) the appropriate taxpayer identification number or numbers; 
 
(3) the tax period or date for which the tax was proposed; 
 
(4) the nature and kind of tax in dispute; 
 
(5) a statement of facts supporting the taxpayer’s position; and 
 
(6) a statement outlining the reasons for the appeal. If the proposed assessment is 

$2,500 or more, the taxpayer should include any law or other authority upon which 
the taxpayer relies. 

E. The Department may extend the time for filing a protest at any time before the period 
has expired. 
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Review by the Department 

A. After a taxpayer files a protest, the taxpayer will be offered a conference with the person 
who issued the proposed assessment, and if requested, that person’s 
supervisor. The purpose of the conference is to give the taxpayer a better 
understanding of the facts and issues and to also afford the taxpayer the opportunity 
to present additional information. At the Department’s discretion, the conference may 
be conducted by telephone. After the conference, if the protest is not resolved, the 
taxpayer’s file will be transferred to the Department’s Office of General 
Counsel for Litigation. 

B. The Office of the General Counsel for Litigation will review the file and prepare a 
written Department Determination addressing the issues raised by the appeal. Once 
the Department’s Director approves the Department Determination, it will be mailed 
to the taxpayer. 

Contested Case Hearing Before the Administrative Law Court 

A. A taxpayer can request a contested case hearing before the Administrative Law Court if 
the taxpayer disagrees with the Department Determination. 

B. The request for a contested case hearing must be made in writing and filed with the 
Administrative Law Court within 30 days after the date the Department 
Determination was mailed or delivered. 

C. The rules of the Administrative Law Court will control the request for a contested case 
hearing and the hearing. 

D. A final assessment will be sent to the taxpayer for payment, if the taxpayer 
does not properly request a contested case hearing within 30 days. 

 
License Revocation 

A. The Department may deny or revoke any license issued by the Department for failure to 
pay taxes or certain regulatory violations. 

B. Notice will be sent to the taxpayer if a division of the Department proposes to 
deny or revoke a license. 

C. A taxpayer can appeal the denial or revocation by filing a written protest with the 
Department within 90 days of the notice. The written protest must contain: 

(1) the taxpayer’s name, address, and telephone number; 
 
(2) the appropriate taxpayer identification number or numbers, if any; 
 
(3) the kind of license in dispute; 
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(4) a statement of facts supporting the taxpayer’s position; and 
 
(5) a statement outlining the reasons for the appeal, including any law or other 

authority upon which the taxpayer relies. 

D. If a protest involves a failure to pay taxes, a written protest should be filed with 
the Department’s District Manager who signed the denial or revocation. The District 
Manager will transfer the matter to the Department’s Office of the General Counsel 
for Litigation if it cannot be resolved. The Office of the General Counsel for 
Litigation will review the file and prepare a written Department Determination 
addressing the issues raised by the appeal. Once the Department’s Director approves 
the Department Determination, it will be mailed to the taxpayer. 

E. If a protest involves a regulatory violation of the alcoholic beverage laws, bingo 
laws, or other coin operated devices provisions, a written protest should be 
filed with the Department’s Regulatory Division. 

F. A taxpayer can request a contested case hearing before the Administrative Law 
Court if the taxpayer disagrees with the Department Determination. The request 
for a contested case hearing must be made in writing and filed with the 
Administrative Law Court within 30 days after the date the Department 
Determination was mailed or delivered. The rules of the Administrative Law Court 
will control the request for a contested case hearing and the hearing. 
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Chapter 8 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 
The following are various frequently asked questions concerning the cigarettes tax, the 
tobacco products tax and several other issues related to cigarettes and tobacco products. 
 
1. What is the definition of a cigarette? 
 
A “cigarette” is defined under the cigarette tax law as: 
 

(1) any roll for smoking containing tobacco or any substitute for tobacco wrapped 
in paper or in any substance other than a tobacco leaf; or 

 
(2) any roll for smoking containing tobacco or any substitute for tobacco, wrapped 

in any substance, weighing three pounds per thousand or less, however labeled 
or named, which because of its appearance, size, type of tobacco used in the 
filler, or its packaging, pricing, marketing, or labeling, is likely to be offered to, 
or purchased by, consumers as a cigarette described in item (1). 

 
Since the imposition of the cigarette tax applies to “all cigarettes made of tobacco or any 
substitute for tobacco,” cigarettes that do not contain tobacco, such as clove cigarettes, 
are subject to the tax. 
 
In addition, a cigar (or any other roll for smoking that contains tobacco or any substitute 
for tobacco) which weighs three pounds per thousand or less, regardless of how its 
labeled or named, is considered a cigarette for the purposes of the cigarette tax if because 
of its appearance, size, type of tobacco used in the filler, or its packaging, pricing, 
marketing, or labeling, it is likely to be offered to, or purchased by, consumers as a 
cigarette. 
 
2. What is the definition of tobacco products? 

 
The term “tobacco products” is defined in the law to mean “cigars, cheroots, stogies, 
periques, granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking tobacco, 
snuff, snuff flour, cavendish, plug and twist tobacco, fine-cut, and other chewing tobacco, 
shorts, refuse scraps, clippings, cuttings and sweepings of tobacco, and other kinds and 
forms of tobacco, prepared in a manner to be suitable for chewing or smoking in a pipe or 
otherwise, or both for chewing or smoking, but does not include cigarettes.” 
 
3. What is the tax rate on cigarettes? 
 
The tax rate for cigarettes is $0.0285, on each cigarette.1 Cigarettes are typically sold in 
packs of 20 or packs of 25; therefore, the tax on a pack of 20 cigarettes is $0.57 and the 
tax on a pack of 25 cigarettes is $0.7125. 
                                                 
1 South Carolina Code §§12-21-620(1) and 12-21-625(A). The cigarette tax is actually a combination of 
two taxes – an excise tax of 3½ mills per cigarette and a surtax of $0.025 per cigarette. 
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4. What is the tax rate on tobacco products? 
 
The tax rate on tobacco products is five percent of the manufacturer’s price. The 
manufacturer’s price is “the established price at which a manufacturer sells to a 
wholesaler.”  
 
5. What is the “established manufacturer’s price” as used in the statute with 

respect to the tax on tobacco products? 
 
In addressing several issue with respect to what constitutes the “established price,” South 
Carolina Revenue Ruling #94-7 advised: 
 

1. The “established price” of snuff, chewing tobacco and smoking tobacco for 
purposes of calculating the tobacco tax on promotional packages, products 
received free of charge, and promotional allowances, as described in the facts, is 
as follows: 

 
(a) Promotional Packaging - A product packaged for the consumer as part of a 

“buy one get one free” or similar promotion by the manufacturer is a 
packaged unit with an established price that is distinct and separate from the 
established price for the same product sold individually. Therefore, the 
established price is the recognized and accepted sum of money asked by the 
manufacturer for each packaged unit during the promotion. 

 
(b) Products Received Free of Charge - If a manufacturer offers a wholesaler, 

during a specified time period, the opportunity to receive one case of a 
product free of charge if he purchases one or more cases of the same 
product, the total price that the wholesaler pays is the “established price” for 
all the cases of the product received under the promotion. 

 
For example, if the wholesaler purchases 10 cases for $200 and receives 1 
case free, the established price upon which the tax is calculated for all 11 
cases is $200. A transaction must be viewed based upon its substance rather 
than its form. As such, the taxpayer in the example has purchased 11 cases 
for $200. 

 
(c) Promotional Allowance - If a manufacturer offers a promotion that merely 

reduces the price of the product, the established price is the recognized and 
accepted sum of money asked by the manufacturer for the product during 
the promotion. 

 
For example, the product may normally sell for $175 per case; however, the 
manufacturer is offering for a limited time the product for $160 per case 
with the invoice showing a unit price of $175 and a promotional allowance 
of $15. As a result of the promotion, the established price is $160. 
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2. The “established price” for the purpose of calculating the tobacco tax is the 
amount charged by the manufacturer to the wholesaler before any cash 
discounts for early payment are taken. 

 
6. Who is required to be licensed? 
 
A cigarette and tobacco products license must be obtained, at no cost, by the following 
persons before engaging in the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products in South Carolina: 
 

(1) Wholesalers of cigarettes or tobacco products. 
 
(2) Retailers that purchase untaxed cigarettes or untaxed tobacco products. 
 
(3) Vending machine operators selling cigarettes or tobacco products through 

vending machines placed on another person’s premises. 
 
(4) Sales representatives for manufacturers of cigarettes or tobacco products. 
 

Wholesalers and retailers must obtain a license for each place of business. Vending 
machine operators and sales representatives; however, are only required to obtain one 
license. Vending machine operators, while only required to obtain one license, must 
maintain an up-to-date list of the location of each cigarette or tobacco products vending 
machine in South Carolina. 
 
7. Do cigarette and tobacco products representatives have to be licensed by the 

department? 
 
Yes. 
 
8. What is the cost of a cigarette or tobacco products tax license? 
 
There is no cost to obtain a cigarette or tobacco products tax license. 
 
9. Are smoke shops required to obtain a tobacco products license if they purchase 

all tax paid products? 
 
No. Retailers are only required to obtain a license if they purchase untaxed cigarettes or 
untaxed tobacco products. 
 
10. Are cigarette and tobacco products licenses transferable? 
 
No. A license is only valid for the person in whose name it is issued and only for the 
transaction of business at the place designated in the license. 
 
11. What form is used to apply for a cigarette or tobacco products tax license? 
 
Form L-915 is used to apply for a cigarette or tobacco products tax license. 
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12. Is a bond required in order to obtain a license? 
 
Cigarettes 
 
Person who are liable for the cigarettes tax are required to post a surety bond or submit 
statements of financial stability satisfactory to the Department. These are required to 
cover possible losses from a taxpayer’s failure to remit the cigarette or tobacco products 
due. 
 
Tobacco Products 
 
A bond or statement of financial stability is not specifically required with respect to the 
tobacco products tax. However, tobacco products licensees who are not liable for the 
cigarette tax can be required to post a bond if the licensee fails to pay the tobacco 
products tax for as many as two filing periods in a 12 month period. 
 
13. Who is required to file a cigarette tax return and when is it due? 
 
The cigarette tax is imposed upon: 
 

(1) every person engaged within South Carolina in the business of selling 
cigarettes, or 

 
(2) every person within South Carolina importing, receiving or acquiring cigarettes 

from outside of South Carolina or from any source whatsoever. 
 
The tax is imposed on the person first receiving the untaxed cigarettes for sale, 
distribution or other disposition in South Carolina and upon any person first importing, 
receiving or acquiring untaxed cigarettes from outside South Carolina for use or 
consumption. 
 
The tax applies whether the cigarettes are sold or otherwise disposed of in South 
Carolina, unless the sale or disposition is otherwise exempt under the law. In other words, 
if the person liable for the tax is unable to account for any cigarettes, such cigarettes are 
subject to the tax. 
 
Cigarette tax returns are due on or before the 20th of the month following the month in 
which the sale, distribution or disposition of the cigarettes occurred. Payment of the 
cigarette tax due must be remitted with each return. 
 
Cigarette and tobacco products taxes are remitted using the same form - Form L-922. 
 
14. Who is required to file a tobacco products tax return and when is it due? 
 
The tobacco products tax is imposed upon every person engaged within South Carolina in 
the business of selling tobacco products as a distributor. A distributor is: 
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(1) any person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products in South 
Carolina who brings or causes to be brought into South Carolina from without 
South Carolina any tobacco products for sale; 

(2) any person who makes, manufacturers, or fabricates tobacco products in South 
Carolina for sale in South Carolina; and 

(3) any person engaged in the business of selling tobacco products outside of South 
Carolina who ships or transports tobacco products to retailers in South Carolina 
to be sold by such retailers in South Carolina.  

Essentially, the tax is imposed on the person first receiving the untaxed tobacco products 
for sale, distribution or other disposition in South Carolina and upon any person within 
South Carolina importing, receiving or acquiring tobacco products from outside of South 
Carolina or from any source whatsoever for use or consumption.  
 
The tobacco tax return is due on or before the 20th of the month following the month in 
which the sale, distribution or disposition of the tobacco products occurred. Payment of 
the tobacco products tax due must be remitted with each return. 
 
Cigarette and tobacco products taxes are remitted using the same form - Form L-922. 
 
15. What is a “gratis” cigarette or a “gratis” tobacco product? 
 
A “gratis” cigarette or tobacco product is one which is usually given away during some 
type of tobacco promotion or advertising event and the item is identified by being marked 
“Not for Resale”, or some other appropriate term. The distributor is responsible for 
paying the tax on “gratis” cigarettes and “gratis” tobacco products. 
 
16. Are tax stamps currently required to be on cigarette packages? 
 
No. The law requiring stamps was repealed effective Jan. 1. 1996. The payment of 
license tax on cigarettes is by a reporting method rather than by tax stamps. That law 
eliminated stamps, but implemented a report to be completed that describes the number 
of cigarettes sold or disposed of. 
 
17. Are cigarettes that do not contain tobacco, such as “clove” cigarettes, subject 

to the tax? 
 
Yes. The tax is imposed “upon all cigarettes made of tobacco or any substitute therefore.” 
 
18. Are tobacco products substitutes subject to the tax? 
 
Only substitutes for cigarettes are subject to the tax. The tax on tobacco products applies 
to forms of tobacco prepared in a manner suitable for chewing, smoking or other 
consumption. 
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19. What is the definition of a contraband cigarette? 
 
Cigarettes found at any point within South Carolina on which the tax has not been paid 
are subject to confiscation by the Department, its employees and any peace officer of the 
State and are contraband cigarettes. 
 
The confiscation of untaxed cigarettes applies to untaxed cigarettes in the possession of 
any wholesaler, retailer, or any other person, regardless of whether or not that person was 
the first person to receive the untaxed cigarettes into South Carolina. However, except for 
cigarettes being offered for sale, cigarettes must be in the possession of a wholesaler for 
more than 72 hours and in the possession of a retailer for more than 24 hours before they 
are subject to confiscation. 
 
Since the cigarettes tax is no longer a stamp tax but is paid via a reporting method, it is 
not possible to determine whether the tax has been paid merely by inspecting the 
cigarettes themselves. Therefore, it must be determined by reviewing invoices and other 
records if the person in possession of the cigarettes (1) is registered to file and remit the 
cigarette tax or (2) has purchased the cigarettes from another person who is registered to 
file and remit the cigarette tax or (3) has otherwise purchased untaxed cigarettes. 
 
20. Are contraband cigarettes subject to seizure? 
 
Yes. 
 
21. Are vehicles used to transport contraband cigarettes subject to seizure? 
 
Yes. 
 
22. Are cigarettes sold to the Federal Government taxable? 

The following sales of cigarettes and tobacco products are exempt from the cigarettes or 
tobacco products tax: 

(1) sales to the United States Government; 

(2) sales to a United States Government instrumentality for Army, Navy, Marine or 
Air Force purposes and delivered to a place lawfully ceded to the United States; 
and 

(3) sales to a United States Government instrumentality for Army, Navy, Marine or 
Air Force purposes and delivered to a ship belonging to the United States Navy 
for distribution and sale to members of the military establishment only. 
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23. Where do you report any evidence of possession of contraband cigarettes? 
 
Contact the Collection Supervisor at the nearest Taxpayer Service Center of the South 
Carolina Department of Revenue to report any evidence of possession of contraband 
cigarettes. Locations and phone numbers for the Taxpayer Service Centers are: 
 

Charleston Service Center: 1 Southpark Circle 
 Suite 100 
 Charleston, S.C. 29407 
 Phone: 843-852-3600 
 Fax: 843-556-1780 
 
Columbia Main Office: 301 Gervais Street 
 P.O. Box 125 
 Columbia, S.C. 29214 
 Phone: 803-898-5000 
 Fax: 803-898-5822 
 
Florence Service Center: 1452 West Evans Street 
 P.O. Box 5418 
 Florence, S.C. 29502 
 Phone: 843-661-4850 
 Fax: 843-662-4876 
 
Greenville Service Center: 545 North Pleasantburg Drive 
 Greenville, SC 29607 
 Phone: 864-241-1200 
 Fax: 864-232-5008 
 
Myrtle Beach Service Center: 1330 Howard Parkway 
 P.O. Box 30427 
 Myrtle Beach, S.C.  29588 
 Phone:  843-839-2960 
 Fax:  843-839-2964 
 
Rock Hill Service Center: 454 South Anderson Road 
 Business and Technology Center 
 Suite 202 
 P.O. Box 12099 
 Rock Hill, S.C. 29731 
 Phone: 803-324-7641 
 Fax: 803-324-8289 
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24. What penalties may be imposed for the sale and/or possession of untaxed 
cigarettes or tobacco products? 

 
The penalty for the sale and/or possession of untaxed cigarettes or tobacco products is 
$50 to $500 for each violation. 
 
25. Are tax refunds available for damaged cigarettes or damaged tobacco products 

which cannot be sold?  
 
Yes. The cigarette tax and the tobacco products tax paid on cigarettes and tobacco 
products “which by reason of damage become unfit for sale and are destroyed by the 
dealer or returned to the manufacturer” may be refunded. However, the refund request 
must be filed with the department within three years of the time the tax return was filed. 
 
26. Are cigarette and tobacco products sold on military installations within South 

Carolina subject to the tax? 
 
Cigarettes and tobacco products sold to the U.S. Government for military use or resale to 
military personnel are exempt from the tax. However, anyone other than the federal 
government making sales of these products through a vending machine or other means on 
a military installation is subject to the tax. 
 
27. What is the age limit for an individual to purchase cigarettes at retail? 
 
A person must be at least 18 years old. It is unlawful for any person to sell, furnish, give 
or provide any minor under the age of eighteen years with cigarettes, tobacco, cigarette 
paper or any substitute therefor. Violating this section is punishable by a fine not 
exceeding $ 100 or by imprisonment for not more than one year or both in the discretion 
of the court. (See South Carolina Code §16-17-500 of the S.C. Code of Laws.) 
 
28. Must you show a form of identification to purchase cigarettes at retail? 
 
Common sense dictates that a retailer selling cigarettes or tobacco products or an 
individual distributing gratis cigarettes should request a legal form of identification prior 
to the sale of the product, or face the penalties provided for in the Code. 
 
29. Where do you report any evidence of retail sales of cigarettes to minors? 
 
Information concerning retail sales of cigarettes to minors should be reported to the local 
law enforcement agency. 
 
30. Is the State of South Carolina a participant in the Master Settlement 

Agreement? 
 
Yes. 
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Chapter 9  
 
Other Department of Revenue Responsibilities or Tax 

Compliance Laws Concerning Cigarettes 
and Tobacco Products 

 
The Department’s primary responsibilities with respect to cigarettes concern the 
administration and collection of the cigarette tax. However, the General Assembly has 
entrusted the Department with certain other responsibilities involving cigarettes. The 
following will briefly outline these other responsibilities: 
 
A. Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity Standards 
 
In 2008, the General Assembly enacted the “Reduced Cigarette Ignition Propensity 
Standards and Firefighter Protection Act”1 (“Act”). The purpose of this Act is to provide 
that cigarettes may not be sold or offered for sale in South Carolina unless the cigarettes 
have been tested in accordance with certain test methods, met certain performance 
standards, and received certain certifications. In addition, the cigarettes must be properly 
marked to indicate compliance with this Act. 
 
While the State Fire Marshal administers this law, and is responsible for promulgating 
regulations necessary to administer it, the following provisions apply to the Department: 
 

1. The Department, in the regular course of conducting cigarette tax inspections of 
wholesalers, retailers and anyone liable for the tax, may inspect the cigarettes to 
determine if they are marked as required under the Act. If the cigarettes are not 
marked as required, the Department shall notify the State Fire Marshal.2 

 
2. The Department, as well as the Attorney General, the State Fire Marshal and 

other law enforcement personnel, may examine the books, papers, invoices, and 
other records of any person in possession, control, or occupancy of any 
premises where cigarettes are placed, stored, sold, or offered for sale, as well as 
the stock of cigarettes on the premises. A person in the possession, control, or 
occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, sold, or offered for sale, 
is directed and required to give the Department, as well as the Attorney General, 
State Fire Marshal, and other law enforcement personnel, the means, facilities, 
and opportunity for these examinations.3 

 

                                                 
1 Chapter 51 of Title 23 (Act No. 331 of 2008). 
2 South Carolina Code §23-51-70(B). 
3 South Carolina Code §23-51-80. 
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3. Cigarettes seized by the State Fire Marshal or any law enforcement personnel 
for not being marked as required under the Act must be turned over to the 
Department. These cigarettes are forfeited to the State. Cigarettes seized must 
be destroyed; however, prior to their destruction the true holder of the trademark 
rights in the cigarette brand must be permitted to inspect the cigarettes.4 

 
4. Each manufacturer must certify to the State Fire Marshal that each cigarette has 

been tested and met the requirements of the Act. This certification must contain 
certain information about each cigarette, such as brand or trade name, style, 
length, and the marking required under the Act. Each cigarette must be 
recertified every three years. The certifications must be made available to the 
Department, as well as the Attorney General.5 

 
Note: The Act also contains an uncodified provision that became effective June 5, 2008, 
that prohibits local governments from enacting any ordinance in conflict with, or 
preempting, the provisions of the Act. 
 
This law becomes effective on January 1, 2010. 
 
B. Distribution of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 18 Years of Age 

It is unlawful for a person to sell, furnish, give, or provide tobacco products, including 
tobacco product samples, cigarette paper, or a substitute for them, to a person under the 
age of eighteen years.6 In addition, a person engaged in sampling must demand proof of 
age from a prospective recipient if an ordinary person would conclude on the basis of 
appearance that the prospective recipient may be under the age of 18 years.7 

For violating these laws, the following penalties may be imposed:8 

(1) a penalty of not more than $25.00 may be imposed for a first violation, 

(2) a penalty of not more than $50.00 may be imposed for a second violation, and 

(3) a penalty of not less than $100.00 may be imposed for a third or subsequent 
violation. 

Proof that the defendant demanded, was shown, and reasonably relied upon proof of age 
is a defense to an action brought under this statute. 

                                                 
4 South Carolina Code §23-51-60(G). 
5 South Carolina Code §23-51-40. 
6 South Carolina Code §§16-17-502(A) and 16-17-501(1). 
7 South Carolina Code §16-17-502(B). 
8 South Carolina Code §16-17-502(C). 
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The Department must enforce this law in a manner that reasonably may be expected to 
reduce the extent to which tobacco products are sold or distributed to persons under the 
age of 18 years. The Department must annually conduct random, unannounced 
inspections at locations where tobacco products are sold or distributed to ensure 
compliance and the Department must designate an enforcement officer to conduct the 
annual inspections.9 

In addition, the Department must prepare and submit annually to the Secretary of the 
United States Department of Health and Human Services the report required by Section 
1926 of the Federal Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300x-26).10 The Department is 
also responsible for ensuring the State’s compliance with this federal law and applicable 
regulations promulgated by the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services.11 

Note: Currently, the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse 
Services (“DAODAS”) conducts routine inspections, gathers information and annually 
submits to the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services 
the report required by this section and by 42 U.S.C. 300X-26. This report is known as the 
“Synar Report.” To review a copy of the most recent Synar Report, visit the DAODAS 
website at http://www.daodas.state.sc.us/. 
 
C. Tobacco Escrow Fund and Fund Enforcement 
 
On November 23, 1998, leading United States tobacco product manufacturers entered 
into the “Master Settlement Agreement” (“Agreement”) with South Carolina. This 
Agreement obligates these manufacturers, in return for a release of past, present, and 
certain future claims against them, to pay substantial sums to the State based in part on 
the volume of sales of their products in South Carolina. In 1999, the General Assembly 
enacted the “Tobacco Escrow Fund Act” and found that it is the policy of this State that 
financial burdens imposed on the State by cigarette smoking be borne by tobacco product 
manufacturers rather than by the State.12 
 
The “Tobacco Escrow Fund Act” provides that any tobacco product manufacturer selling 
cigarettes to consumers within the State (whether directly or through a distributor, 
retailer, or similar intermediary or intermediaries) shall either become a participating 
manufacturer, as defined in section II(jj) of the Agreement, and generally perform its 
financial obligations under the Agreement or place certain amounts into a qualified 
escrow fund based on the number of cigarettes sold.13 Under this law, the Department 
determines the number of cigarettes sold in the State by the applicable tobacco product 
manufacturer during the year in question, as measured by excise taxes collected by the 
State on packs or “roll-your-own” tobacco containers.14 This is the Department’s only 
duty with respect to this law. 
                                                 
9 South Carolina Code §16-17-503(A). See also the “Note” at the end of this section and footnote #13. 
10 South Carolina Code §16-17-503(B). 
11 South Carolina Code §16-17-503(B). 
12 Act No. 47 of 1999. 
13 South Carolina Code §11-47-30. 
14 South Carolina Code §11-47-20(j). 

http://www.daodas.state.sc.us/
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In 2005, the General Assembly enacted provisions to enforce the Tobacco Escrow Fund 
Act, and safeguard the Agreement, the financial interests of the State, and the public 
health.15 Administration and enforcement of these provisions rests with the South 
Carolina Attorney General; however, the Department is involved with two aspects of this 
law: 

1. A cigarette distributor is required to submit information to the Attorney General 
to facilitate compliance with these enforcement provisions including, but not 
limited to, a list by brand family of the total number of cigarettes or in the case 
of roll-your-own, the equivalent stick count for which the cigarette distributor 
affixed stamps during the previous calendar quarter, or otherwise paid the tax 
due for the cigarettes. The cigarette distributor shall maintain, and make 
available to the Attorney General, all invoices and documentation of sales of all 
nonparticipating manufacturer cigarettes and other information relied upon in 
reporting to the Attorney General for a period of five years.16 

The distributors must also provide this information and documentation to the 
Department and any other documentation requested by the Department. The 
Department must process this information as needed by it, and as needed by the 
Attorney General for the purposes of enforcement and for purposes of the 
Tobacco Escrow Fund Act.17 

2. It is unlawful for a cigarette manufacturer, cigarette importer, cigarette 
distributor, or cigarette retailer to sell or possess counterfeit cigarettes. A person 
who violates this subsection is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, is subject 
to a fine, imprisonment or both. In addition, certain violations require the 
revocation by the Department of any cigarette and tobacco products license 
issued by the Department and held by the cigarette manufacturer, cigarette 
importer, cigarette distributor, or cigarette retailer.18 

Note: All cigarette brands in compliance with the Tobacco Escrow Fund Act, and 
therefore legal for sale within South Carolina, are listed on the current Tobacco Directory 
published by the Office of the South Carolina Attorney General. In addition, employees 
of the Department of Revenue assist the Office of the South Carolina Attorney General 
by conducting inspections of cigarette inventories to ensure compliance with the Tobacco 
Escrow Fund Act. 
 
D. Prevent All Cigarette Trafficking Act (PACT Act) 
 
The Prevent All Cigarette Trafficking Act (PACT Act) was signed into federal law in 
2010, amending the Jenkins Act of 1949. 

                                                 
15 Chapter 48 of Title 11 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. 
16 South Carolina Code §11-48-50. 
17 South Carolina Code §11-48-50. 
18 South Carolina Code §11-48-90. 
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Effective June 29, 2010, federal law requires Internet and mail order sellers of cigarettes 
and smokeless tobacco, referred to as “delivery sellers”19 under the law, to comply with 
the following: 

(1) Shipping requirements. The delivery seller must include a statement on the bill 
of lading (if any) and on the same surface as the delivery address. The statement 
must state: CIGARETTES/SMOKELESS TOBACCO: FEDERAL LAW REQUIRES THE 
PAYMENT OF ALL APPLICABLE EXCISE TAXES, AND COMPLIANCE WITH 
APPLICABLE LICENSING AND TAX-STAMPING OBLIGATIONS.20 

 
(2) Weight Requirements. The delivery seller may not sell, offer for sale, deliver or 

cause to be delivered in any single sale or single delivery any cigarettes or 
smokeless tobacco weighing more than 10 pounds.21 

 
(3) Age Verification Requirements. The delivery seller must not sell to a person 

under the legal age for sale or purchase and must comply with certain age 
verification requirements established in the law.22 

 
(4) Recordkeeping Requirements. The delivery seller must keep a record of any 

delivery sale, including a memorandum or a copy of each and every invoice 
covering every shipment into the state of cigarettes and smokeless tobacco; the 
name and address of the person receiving the shipment; the brand and quantity 
thereof; and the name, address, and phone number of the person delivering the 
shipment to the recipient on behalf of the delivery seller. All memo and invoice 
information relating to specific customers must be organized by city, town or 
zip code. The delivery seller must retain records until the end of the 4th full 
calendar year that begins after the date of the delivery sale and must make 
records available to the tax agency of the state.23 

 
(5) State and Local Laws Applicable to Sales of Cigarettes and Smokeless Tobacco. 

The delivery seller must comply with state and local laws applicable to sales of 
cigarettes and smokeless tobacco as if the delivery sale occurred entirely within 
the state (or local jurisdiction), including excise taxes, licensing and tax-
stamping requirements, restrictions on sales to minors, and other payment and 
legal obligations.24 

                                                 
19 The term “delivery seller” means a person who makes a delivery sale and a “delivery sale” means any 
sale of cigarettes or smokeless tobacco to a consumer if (a) the consumer submits the order for the sale by 
means of a telephone or other method of voice transmission, the mails, or the Internet or other online 
service, or the seller is otherwise not in the physical presence of the buyer when the request for purchase or 
order is made; or (b) the cigarettes or smokeless tobacco are delivered to the buyer by common carrier, 
private delivery service, or other method of remote delivery, or the seller is not in the physical presence of 
the buyer when the buyer obtains possession of the cigarettes or smokeless tobacco. 15 U.S.C. Section 375. 
20 15 U.S.C. §§376a(a)(1) and 376a(b)(1). 
21 15 U.S.C. §376a(b)(3). 
22 15 U.S.C. §376a(b)(4). 
23 15 U.S.C. §§376a(a)(2) and 376a(c). See 15 U.S.C. §376(A)(2). 
24 15 U.S.C. §376a(a)(3). 
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(6) Tax Collection Requirements. The delivery seller must not sell or deliver to any 

consumer or common carrier or other delivery service any cigarettes or 
smokeless tobacco unless in advance of the sale, delivery or tender to the 
common carrier or delivery service (i) the excise tax imposed by the state has 
been paid; (ii) the excise tax imposed by a local government has been paid; and 
(iii) any tax stamps or other indicia that the excise tax has been paid are 
properly affixed or applied  to the cigarettes or smokeless tobacco.25 

 
This requirement does not apply to delivery sales of smokeless tobacco if the 
state law (or local law for a local excise tax) requires the delivery seller to 
collect the excise tax from the consumer and remit the excise tax to the state (or 
local law for a local excise tax) and the delivery seller complies with this 
requirement.26 

 
A delivery seller must also file a statement with the state tax agency setting forth specific 
information as outlined in the federal law.27 
 
In addition, a delivery seller must file with the state tax agency by the 10th of each 
calendar month a memorandum or a copy of each and every invoice covering every 
shipment of cigarettes and smokeless tobacco made in the prior month into the state. The 
memo or invoice must include specific information as outlined in the federal law.28 
 
The law also imposes certain requirements and restrictions on common carriers and other 
persons who sell, transfer, or ship for profit cigarettes and smokeless tobacco in interstate 
commerce. 
 
For more detailed information on this federal law and its requirements and restrictions, 
see 15 U.S.C. Section 375 et. seq. 

                                                 
25 15 U.S.C. §§376a(d). Note: South Carolina does not require tax stamps or indicia to be placed on 
cigarette packages. The cigarette tax in South Carolina is paid via a monthly reporting method. See Chapter 
7, Section C of this manual. 
26 15 U.S.C. §376a(d). 
27 15 U.S.C. §376(a)(1). 
28 15 U.S.C. §376(a)(2). 
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L-915 Application for License to Purchase, Sell and Distribute 
Manufactured Tobacco 
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L-917 Manufacturer’s Sales Representative License Application  
  for Cigarette, Cigar and Tobacco Products 
 
L-922 Monthly Tobacco Tax Return  
 
L-1025 Application for Tobacco Tax Refund  
 

Note: See Chapter 7 for information on who is, and is not, required to obtain a cigarette 
and tobacco license and for bond requirements.   
See Chapter 4 and Chapter 7 for refund provisions and requirements. 

 



 

1350 STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE
TO PURCHASE, SELL AND DISTRIBUTE

MANUFACTURED TOBACCO
Mail to: SC Department of Revenue Registration Unit Columbia. S.C. 29214-0140

L-915
(Rev. 4/20/10)

4060

PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION.

If assistance is needed, call (803) 896-1350

Upon Completion of Both Sides, Sign and Date.

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

SID

Website: www.sctax.org License No.

1. OWNER, PARTNERS OR CORPORATE NAME 2. TRADE NAME (DOING BUSINESS AS)

3. PHYSICAL LOCATION OF BUSINESS REQUIRED (NO P.O. BOX) 4. BUSINESS PHONE NUMBER DAY TIME PHONE NUMBER

CITY

STREET

COUNTY (Required)

5. FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

STATE ZIP

6. MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT)

IN CARE OF

STREET

7. TYPE OF BUSINESS

? MANUFACTURER

? WHOLESALE (May include a retailer

purchasing tax free products)

? VENDING MACHINES

CITY COUNTY STATE ZIP 9. LICENSE ISSUE DATE

8. LOCATION OF RECORDS (No P.O. Box) Month Day Year

10. TYPE OF OWNERSHIP

? SOLE PROPRIETOR

? PARTNERSHIP
? LLC-LLP

? UNINCORPORATED ASSOCIATION; ENTER LEGAL NAME
? CORPORATION: ENTER CHARTER NAME 	

? OTHER (EXPLAIN) 	

1 1 . NAMES OF BUSINESS OWNER, PARTNERS OR OFFICERS:

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER NAME/TITLE ADDRESS
IF PARTNER,

PERCENT OW^ED

12. Total number warehouse facilities (business locations) in South Carolina

1 3 If through vending machines - Number of vending machines presently being operated

14. Does your company handle cigarettes? Yes D No D If yes, a completed Form L-2 167, State Tobacco Bond, must
accompany this application, (minimum bond requirement is $5,000).
Other tobacco products? Yes ? No D If yes, name of company other tobacco products purchased from

1 5. Please check the appropriate filing method.

1 6. Name of Product and Manufacturer 	

? Sales Method ? Net Total Receipts Method

1 7. Responsible Party for Payment to Escrow under Master Settlement Agreement

Phone Number	

(USE A SEPARATE FORM FOR EACH LOCATION)

I declare that the application, including the accompanying schedules, if any. has been examined by me and to the best of my

knowledge and belief the information contained therein is true and correct.

SIGNATURE OWNER, PARTNERS OR CORPORATE OFFICER TITLE DATE

Notice: A tobacco license will not be issued to a person with any outstanding state tax liability.

HDLDIDIS



 

Excerpts from Section 12-21-660 Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 as amended:

Each applicant who has two or more business locations is required to obtain a separate license for each place of

business,

A separate application should be used for each location.

A person whose business is conducted through vending machines need obtain only one license but he shall maintain an

up-to-date list of the location of each vending machine operated under his license.

Excerpts from Section 12-21-735 Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 as amended:

The department shall require bonds or statements of financial stability satisfactory to the department to cover possible

losses resulting from failure to remit taxes due.

A completed State Tobacco Tax Bond, Form L-2167, must accompany this application if your company handles

cigarettes. The minimum bond requirement is $5,000.00.

1 . The license must be displayed at all times in some conspicuous place at or in the place of business where it may be

easily seen by the public.

2. The license must be obtained before engaging in the business in this State and is only valid for the person in whose

name it is issued and only for the transaction of business at the place designated in the license.

3. Returns shall be filed no later than the 20th day of the month following the end of the reporting period. A return must

be filed even if no tax is due.

4. Line 15 - Once the filing method has been chosen, you must continue to file under this method on the monthly return,

Form L-922, Monthly Tobacco Tax Return.

5. Line 9 - Date your business started puchasing Tobacco products tax - free.

If you have questions about the filing method, please call 803-896-1970.

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form, if you are an individual. 42 U.S.C 405(c)t2)(C)(i) permits

a state to use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-1

mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as

prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of Revenue is limited

to the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by

the Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family

Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third parties for commercial solicitation purposes.

4Db01D13



 

13S0 STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

STATE TOBACCO TAX BOND

L-2167
(Rev. 12/17/07)

4317

Mail to: South Carolina Department of Revenue, Miscellaneous Tax Section, Columbia, SC 29214-0139

Bond Number

THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS

That 	

Address

(Taxpayer)

as principal and the
(Bond Company)

a corporation under the laws of the State of 	

duly authorized to transact business in the State of South Carolina as surety are held and firmly bound unto

South Carolina Department of Revenue for and on behalf of the State of South Carolina in the penal sum of

	 Dollars,
lawful money of the United States of America, for payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, our

heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.

Signed, sealed and dated this day of A, D . year of

NOW l HEREFORE; the condition of this obligation is such that if

shall pay all the taxes, penalties, and/or interest which may be due under the provisions of all Chapters 21 and 54, Title

12, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 and Amendments thereto, providing for the requirement of bond for the

payment of taxes, penalties and/or interest, then this obligation is to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and virtue.

THIS BOND IS EXECUTED BY THE SURETY COMPANY UPON THE FOLLOWING EXPRESS CONDITION.

Notice of noncompliance with the requirements and applicable provisions of Chapters 21 and 54, Title

12, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, and amendments thereto, must be delivered to the

Company at its home office or its

duly constituted agents within the city of , South Carolina.

THE LIABILITY OF THE SURETY HEREUNDER SHALL TERMINATE:

A. Sixty (60) days after receipt by the South Carolina Department of Revenue of written notice from the surety of

its desire to terminate liability.

AND

B. Upon receipt of written notice by the surety from the South Carolina Department of Revenue terminating the

same.

Witnesses as to Principal:

1	. 	

2. 	 Principal Signature

Witnesses as to Surety:

3. 	

4. 	 Surety Signature

Affidavits on back must be completed.

43171024



 

WITNESS AS TO PRINCIPAL

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,

	 County.

Before me, the subscribing Notary Public, personally appeared

and made oath that he/she saw the within named

represented by 	

Witness number one (see front of bond)

Company

Sworn to and subscribed before

me this 	 day of

A. D., year of

Notary Public

Business or Corporation

sign, seal, and deliver the within Bond, and that he/she with

subscribed their names as witness thereto.
Witness number two (see front of bond)

To be signed by witness one (see front of bond)

(IS.)

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,

WITNESS AS TO SURETY

County.

Before me, the subscribing Notary Public, personally appeared

and made oath that he/she saw the within named 	

represented by 	

Witness number three (see front of bond)

Sworn to and subscribed before

me this 	 day of

A. D., year of

Notary Public

Company

Name of Bond or Insurance Company

sign, seal, and deliver the within Bond, and that he/she with

subscribed their names as witness thereto.
Witness number four (see front of bond)

To be signed by witness three (see front of bond)

-(L.S.)

Forward properly completed bond to:

43172022

South Carolina Department of Revenue

Miscellaneous Tax Section

P.O. Box 125

Columbia, SC 29214



 

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

MANUFACTURER'S SALES REPRESENTATIVES'
LICENSE APPLICATION FOR CIGARETTE,

CIGAR AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS

L-917
(Rev. 6/4/99)

4062

1. Applicant's Name
Social Security Number

Residence Address

Telephone Number .

Street or RFD City State Zip

Vehicle: Personal Q Company [J

2. Manufacturer's Name 	

Address

Make Model License Number State

Street or ITox Number City State Zip

NOTE: This office must be notified of any permanent vehicle change that takes place during the licensing period.

3. Applicant's Supervisor 	 :	 Telephone Number 	 	

Address 	 	

Street or RFD

4. List all tobacco products by brands handled by Representative:

City State Zip

5. Location of facilities used to store tobacco products if other than residence:

6, Representative's territory:

1) Includes State other than S.C. Yes ?
If Yes, list other States	

2} Includes all of S.C, Yes ? No ?
If No, list ail S.C. Counties	

No ?

Have you ever been charged with a violation of any type of tobacco tax? Yes ? No ?
If yes, state nature of violation, date of violation and in which state violation occurred,,	 ^ 		

I	
best of my knowledge and belief.

swear (or affirm) that the information contained herein is true and correct to the

Signature Tide Date

Notice: A tobacco license will not be issued to a person with any outstanding stale tax liability.

Mail to: South Carolina Department of Revenue, Registration, Columbia. SC 29214-0140,



 
 

13SD STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

MONTHLY TOBACCO TAX RETURN
Mail to: SC Department of Revenue, Tobacco Tax, Columbia SC 29214-0138

IMPORTANT: This return becomes DELINQUENT if it is postmarked after
the 20th day (return and payment due on or before the 20th)
following the close of the period.

Sales Method D

Receipt Method EH

L-922
(Rev. 6/24/10)

4064

Office Use Only

SID File Number

FEIN/SSN

Period Ended

If no preaddressed label attached, fill in name, address and FBI number.

SCHEDULE A

Cigarettes

20 ct Packs

(A)

Cigarettes

25 ct Packs

(B)

OTP
Tobacco Products

other than
cigarettes
($ amount)

(C)

1. Beginning inventory

2. Purchases during month (Sch B, page 2)

3. Total (line 1 & line 2)

4. South Carolina tax exempt sales (Sch C, page 2)

5. Ending inventory

6. Total tax exempt (line 4 plus line 5)

7. Taxable sales (Sales method, subtract line 6 from line 3)

8. Total purchases from manufacturer (Rece/pfmef/iocf, subtract
line 4 from line 2)

9. Tax rate .57 .7125 .05

10. Tax due (line 7 times line 9) (Receipt, line 8 times line 9)

1 1 . Total tax due (add columns A and B)

12. Less 3.5% Discount for timely pay

13. Tax due: (line 11 minus 12)

column C (line 10 minus 12) ?
14-1401 14-1408

14. Add: Penalty ?
15. Add: Interest ?

16. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (lines 13, 14, and 15.) (Check if payment is by EFT.) ?

4
_4

.4

For questions regarding this form call (803) 896-1970.

I hereby certify that the information contained in this report (including accompanying schedules and
statements) has been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge is correct and complete.

Signature Title Internet/Email Address

Name(Print) Date Daytime Phone Number

Page 1



 
 

- SOUTH CAROLINA DISTRIBUTORS TRANSACTION REPORT -

NON TAX PAID CIGARETTES/OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS

SCHEDULE B

NOTE: Cigarettes are recorded in packs and other tobacco products are recorded in dollars (purchase price).

OTHER

CIGARETTES TOBACCO

NAME OF MANUFACTURER 20S 25S NAME OF MANUFACTURER PRODUCTS

Total packs/product received from

all sources. Carry to page 1, line 2,

Columns A, B, and C.

SCHEDULE C

Cigarettes/other tobacco products distributed exempt from South Carolina excise tax (i.e. Federal Government,

other states, other S.C. licensed distributors). List by total packs.

NAME, STATE

North Carolina

Georgia

Tennessee

Kentucky

Federal Government

Other (list)

NAME OF

MANUFACTURER

CIGARETTES

20S 25S

OTHER

TOBACCO

PRODUCTS

Total of all packs/product invoiced exempt. Carry

to page 1 , line 4, Columns A, B, and C.

M0b4ED57

Page 2
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SCHEDULE D - TOBACCO REPORT OF TAX PAID PRODUCTS OF NON-PARTICIPATING MANUFACTURERS

(see instructions on reverse)

File Number Period Ended

A B c D E F G H

Non-Participating Manufacturers

Name & Address

Brand Name Name, Address & File Number of

the person whom each pack of

Cigarettes was purchased

Number of

packs Sold

Number of

Cigarettes per pack

Total =

Dx E

Roll Your

Own

(Oz)

G Divided

by .09

TOTAL

Page 3



 

 

South Carolina Department of Revenue

Instructions for Tobacco Report of Non-Participating Manufacturers

List on Schedule D the sales of cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco products that were purchased from nonparticipating

manufacturers. These products should be reported as taxable sales on the monthly tax return.

note: Schedule D must be filed with the monthly Tobacco Return, even if there were no
purchases made from non-participating manufacturers during the reporting period.

Instructions for Completing Reverse Side

Column A:

Enter the name and address of the nonparticipating manufacturer.

Column B:

Enter the full brand name of the product sold (do not abbreviate). Do not break down into subcategories, such

as regular, menthol, light, etc. For example, for a cigarette named "Alpha Bravo Gold Menthol Lights," report only

"Alpha Bravo Gold," Do not report as "A B Gold or A B Gold Menthol Lights."

Column C:
Enter the name, address & file number of the person from whom each pack of cigarettes was purchased. (File

number refers to a South Carolina Licensed Distributor).

Column D:
Enter the number of packs of cigarettes sold in South Carolina that were reported tax paid on the South Carolina

monthly tax return and were produced by nonparticipating manufacturers. Do not list cigarettes that were produced

by nonparticipating manufacturers if the tax was paid at the time of purchase.

Column E: _
Enter the pack size of cigarettes that you sold and were produced by nonparticipating manufacturers. (Example:

packs of 20's; packs of 25's; etc.)

Column F:
Multiply column Number of Packs, by column "E," Cigarettes per pack.

Column G:

Enter number of ounces of roll-your-own tobacco that you sold into South Carolina that was reported tax paid on

your South Carolina monthly tax return and was produced by a nonparticipating manufacturer.

Column H:
Divide column "G," number of ounces of roll-your-own, by .09.

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form, if you are an individual. 42 U.S.C 405{c)(2){C)(i) permits a

state to use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SC Regulation 117-201

mandates that any person required to make a return to the SC Department of Revenue shall provide identifying numbers, as prescribed,

for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of Revenue is limited to

the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances, once this information is collected by the

Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family

Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being used by third parlies for commercial solicitation purposes

Page 4



 

 

13SD STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

APPLICATION FOR TOBACCO
TAX REFUND

Mail to: South Carolina Department of Revenue. Tobacco Tax Refund. Columbia, SC 29214-0112.

L-1025
(Rev. 7/27/10)

4070

Note: Signature is required in order to process the refund (see reverse side).

Form must be filled out in ink or by a typewriter. Copy should be retained for your file.

Provide all information requested. For assistance call (803) 896-1970.

Name of Firm	 Account Number .

Address FEIN/SSN .

REASON FOR REQUESTING REFUND.

CIGARETTES
*This portion to be completed for cigarettes only
Sales Method: tax paid cigarettes sold on or before June 30, 2010 only

Receipt Method; tax paid cigarettes purchased on or before June 30, 2010 only

Date
Shipped

Manufacturer Brand
Name

Packs of 20s
@ .07 each

Packs of 25s
(® .0875 each

Total

*This portion to be completed for cigarettes only
Sales Method: tax paid cigarettes sold or or after July 1, 2010 only

Receipt Method: tax paid cigarettes purchased on or after July 1, 201(

1. Total gross refund requested

2. Less purchase discount (.035 x line 1 )

3. Total net refund requested (subtract line 2

from line 1)

14-1401

) only

Date
Shipped

Manufacturer
Brand
Name

Packs of 20s
@ .57 each

Packs of 25s
@ .7125 each

Total

1. Total gross refund requested

2. Less purchase discount (.035 x line 1 )

3. Total net refund requested (subtract line 2

from line 1)	

OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS

*This portion to be completed for other tobacco products only

14-1401

Date
Shipped

Manufacturer Brand
Name

Gross
Manufacturer's

Tax Rate
of 5%

Total

A Manufacturers Returned Good(s) Affidavit

and Credit Memorandum should accompany

this form.

1. Total gross refund requested

2. Less purchase discount (.035 x line 1 )

3. Total net refund requested (subtract line 2

from line 1)

14-1408

407D1D13



In order for us to verify this refund request and allow us to accurately calculate the amount of the refund, a manufacturer's

returned good(s) affidavit and credit memorandum should accompany this form.

When signing this form, it is important that the information contained in your report be correct and complete. To willfully
furnish a false or fraudulent statement to the Department is a crime.

Taxpayer Name (printed) Date Daytime Phone Number

Taxpayer Signature Internet/Email Address

DO NOT USE THIS SPACE

AUDITED BY APPROVED BY

DATE DATE

Social Security Privacy Act Disclosure

It is mandatory that you provide your social security number on this tax form. 42 U.S.C 405(c)(2)(C)(i) permits a

state to use an individual's social security number as means of identification in administration of any tax. SO
Regulation 117-201 mandates that any person required to make a return to the SO Department of Revenue shall

provide identifying numbers, as prescribed, for securing proper identification. Your social security number is used for

identification purposes.

The Family Privacy Protection Act

Under the Family Privacy Protection Act, the collection of personal information from citizens by the Department of
Revenue is limited to the information necessary for the Department to fulfill its statutory duties. In most instances,

once this information is collected by the Department, it is protected by law from public disclosure. In those situations

where public disclosure is not prohibited, the Family Privacy Protection Act prevents such information from being

used by third parties for commercial solicitation purposes.

M07DE011
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