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The State of Bouth Carolina

by

',

®ffice of the Attorney General

T. TRAVIS MEDL.OCK REMBERT C. DENNIS BUILDING
ATTORNEY GENERAL POST OFFICE BOX 11549

COLUMBIA, 5.C. 29211-1549
TELEPHONE: 803-734.3680
FACSIMILE: 803-253-6283

May 26, 1994

C. Arthur Pruitt

South Carolina State Board of Cosmetology
3710 Landmark Drive, Suite 205

Columbia, South Caroclina 29204

Dear Mr. Pruitt:

You have asked for an Opinion from this Office regarding three
(3) issues raised by the Cosmetology Board ["Board"] relating to
the practice of cosmetology in South Carolina. I will address them
in the order raised.

1. Is the Board in violation of S.C. Code Ann.
§40-13-90 (Supp. 1992) by allowing vocational
students to take the licensure examination
after completing only 1000 hours of cosmetolo-
gy training when the law requires 1500 hours
in cosmetology classes before students may be
eligible to take the licensing examination.

You indicate that in 1982, the Department of Education and the
Board agreed upon a curriculum policy which retained the cosmetolo-
gy training in public schools at 1000 hours, as opposed to
increasing it to 1500 hours as regquired by the 1982 Act No. 388
which is now codified as S.C. Code Ann. §40-13-50.

South Carolina law requires, for a license as a cosmetologist,
that a student:

has completed at least one thousand five
hundred hours in classes in cosmetology in a
reliable school approved by the board . . .
[Emphasis added]

S.C. Code Ann. §40-13-90 (b) (Supp. 1992). The law is silent on
defining "a reliable school approved by the board." However, there
is no indication in the law that the legislature intended to give
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the Board authority to requlate cosmetology schools operating in
public schools, but instead to give such authority exclusively to
the State Board of Education. The State Board of Education has the
power to:

adopt policies, rules and regulations not
inconsistent with the laws of the State for
its own government and for the government of
the free public schools.

adopt minimum standards for any phase of
education as are considered necessary to aid
in providing adequate educational opportuni-
ties and facilities.

Prescribe and enforce courses of study for the
. free public schools [Emphasis added].

S5.C. Code Ann. §§59-5-60 (1), (3), (6), (1990). It has the further
power and responsibility to:

Promulgate regulations to ensure that each
school district in its secondary school or
vocational center shall establish clearly
defined vocational programs designed to pro-
vide meaningful employment.

S.C. Code Ann. §59-5-65 (6), (1990). In accordance with this
authority, the State Board of Education has promulgated, among
others, the following regulation regarding instructional programs
in the State's public schools.

In addition to the policies of the State Board
of Education, the programs under the jurisdic-
tion of other state licensure boards shall
meet their regquirements. [Emphasis added].

24 S.C. Code Ann. Regs 43-236(C)(1976).

Thus, it appears that the agreement you referred to as having
been effected by the State Department of Education and the State
Board of Cosmetology in 1982 does contain a provision in contradic-
tion to the State cosmetology law regarding minimum hours required
for licensure and the State Board of Education's regulation
regarding its deference to State licensing board requirements.
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The Board's regulation which states:

Public school Cosmetology programs include
accredited high schools, trade schools or
industrial schools.

Every person who successfully completes the
course in Cosmetology, or any of its branches,
given in a school under the public school
system of this State is accorded the same
eligibility for registration and licensure
under this Chapter as those who have completed
a course in a licensed private school approved
by the State Board of Cosmetology. [Emphasis
added].

23A S.C. Code Ann. Regs. 35-11 A.B. (Supp. 1992), (read in
conjuriction with S.C. Code Ann. §40-13-90(b) regarding minimum
hours, and the State Board of Education Reg., 24 S.C. Code Ann.
Regs. 43-236(C), deferring to licensure board requirements), must
not be taken to allow a lesser standard for public school cosmetol-
ogy graduates than is required by law for graduates of proprietary
schools, absent clear authority to do so.

2, In view of the language of 23A 5.C. Code Ann.
Regs. 35-22 approved by the General Assembly,
May, 1993, does the Board have authority to
reduce or waive fines.

The regulation provides:

Any person who violates any provision of 1976
South Carolina Code of Laws Section 40-13, any

regulation of Chapter 35 . . . or any duly
issued Order of the Board may incur . . . a

civil penalty in an amount of not more than
five hundred dollars for each violation

« + + In establishing the amount of the
penalty for each violation, the Board shall
consider, but not be limited to, the following
factors:

(1) The gravity and magnitude of the
violation;

(2) The person's previous record of
complying or of failing to comply
with the provisions of Section 40-13
or with the rules adopted under
South Carolina Chapter 35;
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(3) The person's history in taking all
feasible steps or in following all
procedures necessary or appropriate
to correct the violation;

(4} Such other factors as the Board may
consider appropriate.

Establishing Civil Penalty Amounts

+ + .« .+ The actual civil penalty which the
Board assesses shall be based on the Board's
consideration of the factors listed in A
above, but the fine for any one violation
shall not exceed five hundred dollars.

Schedule of Safety and Sanitary Rules Viola-
tions

Refusal to permit or interference

with a salon inspection

(a) PFor first offense: §50

(b) For second offense: $100

(¢} For third offense: $200

[Emphasis added]

23A §.C. Code Ann. Regs. 35-22 A, B, D, approved May, 1993.

The Board has stated its desire to be ‘'"consistent and
equitable and to consider and evaluate each case on an individual
basis." It has also established certain specific monetary fines
for the first, second and third offenses of specifically enumerated
violations. Thus, it would reasonably appear that the enumerated
fines and violations are meant for the Board's guidance only; and
that the Board is free to adjust such fines as it shall determine,
based on its consideration of the factors listed in Section A, so
long as the fine for any one violation does not exceed five hundred
dollars.

Whether or not the Board has authority "to reduce or waive
fines" based on this regulation is a matter for the Board to
determine. The Board has authority to interpret its own laws; and
absent cogent reasons, such interpretation will not be disturbed.
Faile v. South Carolina Employment Security Commission, 267 S.C.
536, 540, 230 S.E.2d 219, 221-222 (1976).

3. Under the language of 23A §.C. Code Ann. Regs.
35-24A(2) (Supp. 1992) would a vocational
school be eligible to submit a continuing
education program for approval and to present
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the program if it meets all the criteria as
set forth in Board regqulations.

The regulation in gquestion permits continuing education
programs to be conducted and monitored by certain designated
"state-wide organizations" as well as by "any other state wide
group or association who can present a satisfactory program to the
Board. . . "

The designated state-wide organizations are:

(a) State Active cosmetology teachers in Vocation-
al Education (ACTIVE)

(b) S.C. Association of Cosmetology Schools, Inc.
(SCACS)

{c) &8.C. Registered Cosmetologist Association

) {SCRCA)

{(d) &8.C. State Cosmetologist Association (SCSCA)

5.C. Code Ann. Regs. 35-24A (1) (Supp. 19%2).

A vocational school supported entirely by public funds would
be classified as a public school per S§.C. Code Ann. §59-1-120
(1990). As a public school, a vocational school would come within
the ambit of a school district which is defined as:

. « any area or territory comprising a legal
entity, whose sole purpose is that of provid-
ing free school education, whose boundary
lines are a matter of public record, and the
area of which constitutes a complex tax unit.

S.C. Code Ann. $§59-1-160 (1990).

Further, a school district is classified as a "body politic
and corporate." S.C. Code Ann. §59-17-10 (1990).

Thus, it is not likely that the Board's designation of state-
wide organizations would embrace a vocational school within a
state-wide public education system. However, it may be possible
that a group of cosmetology teachers within a vocational school,
who are also members of a state-wide group of cosmetology teachers
or cosmetologists, may qualify to conduct continuing education
courses for cosmetologists, provided they meet the "specified
criteria established by the Board." per 5.C. Code Ann. Regs. 35-24
A. (Supp. 1982),.
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I trust that this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Alice C. Broadwater
Assistant Attorney General

ACB/fg

REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY:

oy
-

Edwin E. Evans
Chief Deputy Attorney General

-

Robert D. Cook
Executive Assistant for Opinions




