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The Honorable Edith R. Harris
Clerk of Court, McCormick County
P. 0. Box 86
McCormick, South Carolina 29835

Dear Ms. Harris:

You have requested the advice of this Office as to the fee for
recording a document releasing a portion of mortgaged premises,
which you have noted is commonly called a mortgage release. The fee
for this filing would appear to be $4.00 under §8-21-310 (3) of the
Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976 which provides for this fee
"[f]or recording an instrument which assigns, transfers, or affects
a single real estate mortgage or other instrument affecting title to
real property or lien for the payment of money unless it is a part
of the original instrument when initially filed..." (Emphasis
added). See also §8-21-310 (9). You have distinguished the
document that you have described from a satisfaction of a mortgage
for which the fee is $2.00 under §8-21-310 (5).

If you have any questions or if I may be of other assistance,
please let me know.

Yours^vef-y truly,

, y^pth, Jr.
Assistant Attorney General
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cc: The Honorable Edith C. Padget, Clerk of Court, Saluda County

REVIEWED AND APPROVED:

Robert D. Cook
Executive Assistant for Opinions

Frank K. Sloan
Chief Deputy Attorney General


