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Office of the Attorney General

State of South Carolina
August 23, 1979

*1 Mr. John T. Watkins

S. C. Residential Home Builders Commission
Suite 312

2221 Devine Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29205

Dear John:

In a letter to this Office you raised the question of whether the S. C. Residential Home Builders Commission could issue
a limited license. You indicated that there are some individuals who do improvement work which consists of such things
as applying siding, installing storm windows and doors. You indicated that typically the cost does exceed $10,000.00, but
these individuals are presently not licensed by your Commission. Therefore, you have raised the question as to whether
the Commission could issue a limited license which would restrict these individuals to performing such jobs as above
referenced.

As you are aware, a residential home builder is defined as

‘... one who constructs a residential building or structure for sale or who, for a fixed price, commission, fee or wage,
undertakes or offers to undertake the construction, or superintending of the construction, of any building or structure
which is not over three (3) floors in height and which does not have more than sixteen (16) units in the apartment
complex, or the repair, improvement or reimprovement thereof, to be used by another as a residence when the cost of
the undertaking exceeds $10,000.00.” Section 40-59-10, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976.

Section 40-59-70 of the 1976 Code of Laws requires the annual licensing of individuals within the definition of a
residential home builder. Pursuant to Section 40-59-80 of the 1976 Code of Laws, an examination of an individual
desiring to be licensed by the Commission as a residential home builder is mandated. My research has not indicated
any provisions which dictate separate examinations or examinations not as comprehensive as others nor any specific
authority for licensing individuals to do limited work. The only license that is referenced is the license to engage in
residential home building. A review of the rules and regulations of the Residential Home Builders Commission, and
particularly Rule 106-4, similarly indicates that one examination is provided, successful completion of which is required
prior to being licensed as a residential home builder. Pursuant to the above, to engage in any work within the definition
of a residential home builder, whether it is totally new construction or remodelling and repair work, if the cost exceeds
$10,000.00, an individual must be licensed as a residential home builder.

The S. C. Licensing Board for Contractors specifically provides by their rules and regulations that examinations may be
taken in various areas of contracting. As you are aware, pursuant to such regulations, general contractors are classified
for licensing in four major classifications: highway, building, public utilities, and specialty. Mechanical contractors
are classified for licensing in five fundamental branches of construction, namely, plumbing, heating, air conditioning,
electrical, and lightning protection work. Pursuant to Rule 29-5, the Contractors Licensing Board

*2 .. .shall conduct a written examination of all applicants to ascertain the ability of the applicant to make a practical
application of his knowledge of the profession of contracting, under the classification contained in the application,
and to ascertain the qualifications of the applicant in reading plans and specifications, knowledge of estimating costs,
construction, ethics or other similar matters pertaining to the contracting business. If the result of the examination of
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applicant shall be satisfactory to the Board, then the Board shall issue to the applicant a certificate to engage as a general
or mechanical contractor in the State of South Carolina as provided in the certificate.’

Pursuant to Rules 29-7 and 29-8, limitation groups as to certain classifications and monetary amounts are referenced for
mechanical and general contractors for the purpose of licensing individuals to perform a certain type of work the cost of
which is within a specific monetary amount. Therefore, pursuant to the above, the Contractors Licensing Board has by
regulation established that licenses in certain categories of mechanical and general contracting may be granted by their
Board to individuals desiring to do a particular phase or phases of contracting work.

It would appear that presently the Residential Home Builders Board is without authority to issue a limited license.
However, if the Commission desired to provide separate licenses in varying classifications, the Commission could
consider issuing a regulation which would provide for such varying licenses. Of course, this would require compliance
with the Administrative Procedures Act. I would be happy to discuss this with the Commission at their next meeting.

You have also asked whether the Commission can require a licensed builder to assume a particular job after the builder,
who was performing the work, had his license revoked by the Commission. You indicated that typically a builder may
have three or four houses under construction at the time his license is revoked. A review of the code sections pertaining
to the Residential Home Builders Commission and the rules and regulations of the Commission provide no clear answer
to your question. However, Section 40-59-130 of the 1976 Code of Laws does state in part that:

‘Any residential home builder who undertakes or attempts to undertake the business of residential home building without

first having procured a valid license which is neither expired or been revoked . . . shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor
and upon conviction shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars or imprisoned for not less than thirty days.’

It is apparent that the criminal penalty does not arise unless a builder ‘undertakes or attempts to undertake’ the business
of home building without having a valid license. It would seem therefore that as to a builder who has already begun
construction, an argument may be made that the criminal penalties would not apply for the reason that at the time the
began construction he was validly licensed. Section 40-59-130 also allows for injunctive action against a builder who
constructs without a valid license. Such Section further states in part:

*3 ‘Whenever it shall appear to the Commission that any residential home builder has or is about to violate the
provisions of this chapter the Commission may in its own name petition the court of common pleas of the county wherein
the violation occurred or is about to occur to issue a temporary restraining order enjoining such violation of this chapter
pending a full hearing to determine whether or not the injunction should be made permanent.’

It likewise would seem inappropriate to seek injunctive relief against a builder for conduct that he properly entered into
while being validity licensed. It would appear therefore that the more proper course for the Commission to pursue would
be that at the time an order is issued revoking or suspending a residential home builder's license that there be included in
the order the statement that the builder may complete only those homes presently under contract in which construction
has actively been commenced. It should also be explained that the builder could not undertake or contract to undertake
any additional construction until he became validity licensed again. It also appears that this would be the best course
inasmuch as in most instances the builder is responsible under contract to complete a particular house and to deny him
the right to complete that house on the basis of his license being revoked would be improper. I would assume that this
recommended action would provide an adequate means of handling this type of problem in most instances and unless
there is a builder involved who has a vast number of houses under construction this would be the course that I would
recommend. Again, this is a point that would probably be best discussed by the Commission at their next meeting.

If there are any further questions, do not hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,
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Assistant Attorney General
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